Seriously Swirling Thoughts

I often find it hard to focus my thoughts on one particular thing.  If you could see inside my brain, you’d run away scared and never come back.  Sometimes I want to do the same.  Although I should be writing another marriage post (I have a deadline), I cannot seem to focus my brain on dishing out advice, words of wisdom, or encouragement.  My thoughts are caught in a swirling tornado, and I am left to wonder if I will land in Oz.

I am going to share a few of those thoughts in the same way debris is cast from a wind storm.  I apologize in advance.

* This morning a woman at the toll booth commented that today was just another day.  For some reason, it made me sad.  Our lives are filled with ordinary, but are they merely another day?  Jesus said, “I am come that they might have life, and that they might have it more abundantly.”  (John 10:10)  I want to live the abundant life everyday, but so often I waste away my twenty-four hours in complaint, fear, and discontent.  Why?

* Even though I clean sometimes every single day, dirt never goes away.  Cleaning is a lesson in futility.  I hope I learn my lesson soon and get a maid.

* There’s a Bible verse I am trying to find and cannot.  My brain failure is driving me batty.  It talks about not promoting yourself, but allowing God to promote you.  Do you know where I can find it?

* I wish I were organized.  Seriously.  My brain does not think in an organized manner.  There is no logic in my life.  I even have a difficult time filtering my posts into categories.  Because I am logically deficient, I decided to make Logic an official subject in our school week.  We are beginning with a series of books titled Mind Benders.  Friday morning I took out the first problem and couldn’t figure it out.

FringeKid looked at me, raised an eyebrow, and said, “Hominy, hominy, hominy…”

Thankfully my son grabbed the paper, skimmed over the question, and announced, “I’ve got it!”

Like any good liar teacher, I quickly commended FringeBoy for a job well-done and asked him to share how he solved the problem so quickly.  Next week I will look at the answers before we begin.

Those are all the thoughts I can manage to put into words tonight.  I hope you all enjoy the holiday!

What thoughts are swirling around your head?

6 thoughts on “Seriously Swirling Thoughts

  1. Mom

    Is this the verse you are looking for? “Humble yourselves in the sight of the Lord, and he shall lift you up.” James 4:10

    Tricia, you head has always been swirling around and around like that ride above. Yet, you always manage to contain and it for a wile and succeed at what you are doing!

    Reply
  2. patti

    My mind whirls like a vortex of gray matter. When I realized this was my DNA and wouldn’t be changed (unless God performed a miracle), I just used it to my advantage. With a note pad, pen, and/or your cell phone (to leave yourself messages), it’s a GREAT plus for writers!!!
    Patti

    Reply
  3. Cathy

    Love the pictures and don’t feel bad. My mind stays in a state of chaos most of the time. Maybe its a woman thing. But I really think it’s more of a mom thing! lol

    Reply
  4. Debra

    I’m so glad I’m not the only one with a mind in chaos! 😉 I get tired just trying to sort it all out. I like a teacher who can lie er…think on her feet!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

