An Apple a Day

I’ve heard an apple a day keeps the doctor away and the teacher at bay.  Despite the overwhelming good apples can do for your health and education, they often get a bad rap.  You know, the snake in the garden and all…

For me, apples mean fall and I love them.  I can’t eat them, but I love them just the same.  I’m one of the few people on earth who are allergic to apples.  After just one bite, I want to stick my hand down my throat and scratch.  I get an intense case of mouth, throat, and ear itchiness, but if the apple is cooked, I can eat it.  Go figure.  I can only eat cooked apples.  No candy apples for me!

As soon as the morning air turns crisp and clear, I cannot resist buying or picking tons of apples.  Every time I pass my kitchen counter, I want to reach out and grab and apple.  I’d be thinner if I could eat my apples raw.  I’ll just go ahead and say it.  My allergies are making me fat!

Not really, but it sure feels good to pass the blame.

As you may know, I can’t make pies.  Although I’ve ruined many a good recipe, I keep trying.  I’ve given up on making my own crust though.  I may be able to bake a loaf of bread, but I cannot roll out a pie crust.  I’m a Pillsbury girl, and I am not ashamed to admit it.

Applaud me girls.

Saturday afternoon I decided to test the fates and try my luck at an apple pie.  It was a bold move on my part, because the pie was going with me to my neighbor’s house for a cook-out.  Thankfully I poisoned no-one.  It was the best pie I ever made.  I know that’s not saying much, but I choose to celebrate my small culinary steps.

Do any certain foods signify fall for you?

I am linking this post to the Fall Festival blog party at This Blessed Nest.  Go visit to see more things fall!

If you missed my post last week, and have an urge to see my somewhat lame fall decor, click HERE.

To see last year’s apple picking pictures, click HERE or HERE.

Have you embraced the change of season yet?  Has there even been a change of season where you live?

11 thoughts on “An Apple a Day

  1. Julie McGoldrick

    Gorgeous pie! It is a little cool in the mornings, here, but not quite Fall yet. That hasn’t discouraged me- I just put on my Fall table cloth, hung my wreath, and filled a long wooden bowl with candles and… you guessed it… apples. I LOVE apples- and love the Northeast for all of the gorgeous orchards that we visit for picking. My kids are going on their first ‘picking’ in a few weeks- I can’t wait.

    Oh, and that’s CRAZY, your apple allergy! I’ve never heard of that one before. Glad that you can eat them cooked. Have you ever cored one, stuffed it with oatmeal/brown sugar/butter and baked it? Amazing.

    Happy Fall!

    Reply
  2. Jennifer Jo

    Your pie looks gorgeous! You have absolutely NOTHING to be ashamed of.

    But I am soooo sorry that you can’t eat fresh apples. Apples, to me, are fall. Actually, apple CIDER is fall. And homemade donuts. Which we’ll be making by the hundreds come the middle of October, frying them up in the cook stove in our back yard and serving them up to all our friends. Everyone gorges and then goes home to sleep it off…

    Reply
  3. this blessed nest

    oh.my.word.

    my mouth is drooling & it’s 11:45 pm. not a good thing to do to me. love homemade apple pies! they are the best. i am right there with you & pillsbury! can’t go wrong.

    i’ve never heard of an allergy to raw apples. now i see another comment that is just like you.
    thanks for linking up with the FALL FESTIVAL again. it was a pleasure having you!

    hope to see you next week as well.
    kellie

    Reply
  4. Mom

    Like you, I too am allergic to raw apples. Cooked in a pie or applesauce I am fine. Apples and pumpkins remind me of fall. The turning leaves and the brisk breeze is a wonderful reminder of fall too.

    Reply
  5. Louisiana Tara

    Aw, you can’t eat them raw? Poor thing! I’ve never heard of an apple allergy like that.

    Isn’t it weird how cooking things affects whether we can have them or not? Now that I’m on this new diet b/c of my blood thinners, I can eat all the raw tomatoes I want. But one cup of marinara sauce puts me WAY over my vitamin K intake for the day. It’s so weird. Also, I can’t eat grapes but can drink grape juice. Odd.

    Thankfully apple pie is still on my “approved foods” list, and I wish I could have a slice of that one right now!

    Reply
  6. Amber

    there hasn’t really been a change of season yet but i feel it is close. tomorrow starts a 10-day span of mid 70’s days. woohoo! no more a/c. all open windows and comfort! 🙂

    Reply
  7. Jill

    I think your pie looks professionally done! I always end up with something weird and lumpy and obviously homemade! I don’t do my own pie crusts either. Why bother when Pillsbury does such a nice job for me? I’m off sugar and most carbs for a while, but I think that’s going to kill me in the fall. I always want to bake during autumn, and apples truly say fall to me too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

