13 Things About Love

Today is my thirteenth wedding anniversary, and I guess I’m glad it’s not Friday.  Friday the 13th for 13 years…Wow!  I can’t imagine the jokes that would surround us.

Thirteen is a lot of years.  Not compared to some of you, not compared to the years my grandparents shared, but still a lot.  I remember seeing couples that were married ten or eleven years, and thinking what a long time that would be to be married to someone.  Now I’m glad I still have a lifetime of marriage ahead of me.  Thirteen years raced by bringing changes, trials, growth, tears and many laughs.  I cannot imagine what the next thirteen years will bring and in some ways I’d rather not know right now.

Today it’s all about the 13 things I love about FringeMan and our marriage.  For the record, my love exceeds the number 13, but I doubt you want me to go on and on.

1. FringeMan knows how to fix things.

2. Although we’ve rubbed off on each other, thirteen years into marriage, we are still uniquely us.

3. We’ve endured trial and emerged stronger, united.

4. FringeMan isn’t afraid of challenge.

5. FringeMan has carpel tunnel from rubbing my back so often.

6.  We can disagree and still be in love.

7. FringeMan stocks chocolate bars and M&M’s in the freezer for my rough times.

8. He’s learned to fall asleep with the light on so I can stay up and read just a little longer.

9. He eats anything I cook.  Well, except for that one time I made a fishstick casserole…

10. He has a sexy phone voice.

11, He’s not afraid to say I’m sorry.

12. He lets me paint things wretchedly tacky colors and then tells me they look nice.

13. FringeMan is still my best friend.

Happy Anniversary FringeMan and thanks for the new pillows!

I’ll love you forever,

So what do you love about your husband/wife, marriage, boyfriend/girlfriend?

23 thoughts on “13 Things About Love

  1. MissCaron

    I hate that I’ve been gone so long… having a baby sister (who is 9 years younger than you even though you are still single) get married really takes over your life! Anyway, I just want to say HAPPY ANNIVERSARY my dear! I’m so happy that you’re so happy together. You deserve it! God bless! 🙂

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Feeling The Love | the domestic fringe

  3. Jenn

    Happy Anniversary!!!!! Love the list!! When I need comfort, my Honey makes me a ROCKIN’ Hot Raspberry cup of tea!! Hope you had a great day!!!!

    Reply
  4. Mom

    Happy Anniversary! I am glad about #2 on the list. You both have kept your uniqueness. Can you imagine being bald and John with long frizzy hair?

    Reply
  5. Mindy

    Ahhh! You know I LOVE love! Congratulations on 13 years. Sounds like a lot to me! hahaha

    As for what I love about my love? I love his sweet spirit. ~Mindy

    Reply
  6. robinaltman

    Happy anniversary, FringeGirl! A man who stocks Hershey Bars and M&Ms for you – now THAT is true love.

    When people wish us a happy anniversary, Adam likes to say, “Yes! We’ve had 8 happy years of marriage!” We’ve been married for 23 years. Hardy har har.

    Reply
  7. Rebekah @ It Only Gets Better

    In November, we will celebrate out 13th anniversary also! And you’re right, it’s not the longest but it’s not the shortest either. What I realized today, though, is that it is one year longer than my parents made it. So, I think that’s saying something. I don’t know what, yet, but it says something. It feels like a major accomplishment! I think I deserve a leg lamp or something, don’t you? “This is a major award!”

    And you really don’t want me to take up your whole comment section with all the things I love about my sweetie. But, right now, I’m very thankful that he knows the best way to say he’s sorry is to offer to go pick up something at Taco Bell! ; )

    Reply
    1. the domestic fringe Post author

      lol. I like it!
      Nothing says “I Love You” like a bean burrito. 😉

      By the way, you definitely deserve a leg lamp.

      Reply
  8. Laura

    Congratulations! You’ve got 10 years on me. Hubby and I just celebrated our 3rd earlier this month.
    My fav part of your list was the Sexy Phone Voice, it made me laugh. Also, I’ve got to tell me hubby that your stocks the freezer with comfort food; that is a good man.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

