Comfort Food Carnival – Week 2

Yes, at this point I realize that no one is going to play along; however, I am stubborn enough to see this dumb idea through.  Today is Comfort Food Carnival, Week 2.

A few weeks ago, or maybe last week, I can’t remember…I was inspired by the Lemonade Makin’s Mama’s post on batch cooking.  A long time ago when dinosaurs roamed the earth, my babies took naps, and I went to the gym, I cooked for my freezer.  I have a big chest freezer and it’s a shame to only fill it with day old bread, so I decided to once again feed it.

You see, cooking and I, we get along…sometimes.  I had to pick the right sometime to accomplish this culinary feat and Wednesday afternoon (into evening) was the time.

I made:

1 pot sauce, 5 9×9 pans of lasagna, 4 9×9 pans of mexican lasagna, 2 containers of chili + enough for dinner that night, and 2 containers of split pea soup.

How did I do it all without burning down the house or even burning my finger?

Glad you asked.

The secret to batch cooking is a mental one.  You simply psych yourself up by reminding yourself that after today, you will have 13 nights free of cooking.  Wow.  That almost makes me want to spend another afternoon doing this for 13 more free night.

I did it for when I don’t feel like cooking.

I did it for my chest freezer.

I did it for the stomachs of my family.

I did it for having 13 nights of sheer laziness.

I did it for love.

Now do you want a recipe or not?

I made this one up and I actually froze the 4 pans of it I made, so I have NO idea if it actually tastes good.  Let’s hope so, because we are going to eat it four times.

Ingredients:

1 lb ground beef, 1 lb ground chicken, 2 packages flour tortillas, 1 large jar salsa, 1 large bag mexican rice, 2 large cans refried black beans, cheddar cheese, salt, pepper, chili powder, cilantro, enchilada sauce

Directions:

Well, this recipe will unfortunately make 4 pans.  I guess you’ll have to adjust it if you only want 1 pan.  Or maybe you’ll be hungry and want to eat 4 pans.  At any rate…

Pour a little enchilada sauce in the bottom of a 9×9 pan (enough to cover lightly), in a sauce pan brown the ground meat, drain fat, and add two heaping teaspoons of cilantro, a teaspoon of chili powder, salt & pepper to taste.  Add the jar of salsa.  Cook rice according to directions. Layer a tortilla shell, refried beans, cheddar cheese, tortilla shell, mexican rice, meat, cheddar cheese, tortilla shell.  Then pour enchilada sauce over the whole mess.  Throw on a little more cheese, because cheese makes everything better.  Freeze or heat in the oven until it’s bubbly and all the cheese is melted.

Ya, I made that up.  Aren’t you glad you don’t eat at my house every night?

I used The Pioneer Woman’s chili recipe.  You’ll have to buy her cookbook if you want that one, and I made up a lasagna recipe too.  It’s got sausage, spinach, cheese, more cheese…you get the idea.  I’ll spare you that recipe.

Your turn!

Please tell me someone’s going to link a recipe.  Come on.  I know you cook!

Have a great weekend!

16 thoughts on “Comfort Food Carnival – Week 2

  1. Jennifer Jo

    Well, aren’t you the Industrious One! Way to go!

    I’m in the middle of a batch cooking project but it’s kind of a secret still. Maybe I’ll share it soon…

    Reply
  2. Julie McGoldrick

    No link, but here’s a favorite recipe: HOT CHICKEN SALAD CASSEROLE

    I use everything fat-free and low-fat. I also omit things that I don’t like or don’t have in the house… like water chestnuts and lemon juice. Also, Sun Chips taste really good on top, or just sprinkle Parmesan cheese and bread crumbs if you are in a pinch. I like to make the rice with fat-free chicken broth~ it adds flavor.

    2 cups cooked diced chicken (or pre-cooked chicken strips~ the ones that come in a bag)
    1 tsp. onion powder (use Tony Chacherie’s (cajun seasoning) to taste for this, the salt, cayenne, paprika, & pepper- about 3 tsp or so)
    1.5 tsp. salt (Tony C’s)
    1/4 tsp. cayenne pepper (Tony C’s)
    1 tsp. paprika (Tony C’s)
    1.5 tsp. black pepper (Tony C’s)
    1.5 cups cooked brown rice
    1 can water chestnuts
    1 can cream of chicken (or mushroom or celery) soup (fat-free)
    1 cup celery, diced
    1 tablespoon lemon juice
    1/2 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
    1/2 tsp. Tabasco
    1 cup sharp cheddar cheese, grated (fat free mixes well here and tastes great~ less greasy)
    3/4 cup low-fat/fat free mayo
    1/4 cup water
    2 cups crushed potato chips (Sun Chips or Parmesan cheese or breadcrumbs)

    1) In a large bowl mix all ingredients except mayo, water and potato chips.
    2) Combine mayo and water; mix well. Blend into other ingredients.
    3) Place in a greased casserole dish and top with crushed potato chips.
    4) Bake 15 minutes in a preheated 400 degree oven or until bubbly throughout.

    Reply
  3. Sara

    Yum! We made pulled pork last night with cheesy potato casserole. Frozen potatoes, 1 can cream of whatever you want soup, 1 stick melted butter, 2 cups shredded sharp cheddar cheese, 16 oz. sour cream. Top with more melted butter and crushed corn flakes. Bake on 400 for 30-ish minutes. So yummy, and it works for breakfast, lunch and dinner!!

    Reply
  4. Jill

    I can’t cook! That’s why I look at posts like this. I’m almost inspired to try except I haven’t had a free afternoon for a while. And to be honest with you, it would probably take me more than an afternoon and evening. I’m slow like that and I do burn things.

    Reply
  5. Robbyn

    I wish I had a freezer to stock up with yummy stuff, of course it probably wouldn’t do me any good unless I also wished for the discipline to stand there and do all that cooking!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

