Comfort Food Carnival – Week 3

I am the queen of substitutions.  I’m always running out of something.  That’s my main problem in cooking.  I know some of you are thinking that I should do a better job of stocking my pantry, and I’d agree if I had a pantry.  I do not.  Keeping stock in my house is not practical.  Shopping regularly and remembering to purchase everything on my mental list is practical; however, it rarely happens.  So I substitute.

Today’s comfort food recipe is banana bread, and of course I had to substitute something.  I was fresh out of baking soda and didn’t know what to do, so I turned to my handy cooking companion, the internet, for answers.  Turns out you can substitute club soda or in my case, lime seltzer for baking soda, but only in a pinch.

Is there a difference between club soda and seltzer?

I’m so unsophisticated; I have no idea.

Here’s the recipe!

3 over-ripe bananas, 1c. sugar, 1 stick butter, 2 eggs, 1/3c. water (in my case, lime seltzer), 1 2/3c. flour, 1tsp. baking soda, 1/2tsp. salt, 1/4tsp. baking powder, 1/2c. chopped nuts (optional)

AND, here’s my secret ingredient…

Banana Cream Instant Pudding!

Throw in the entire box after you mix all the other ingredients in a mixer.  Give a last mix until the pudding is spread throughout, and pour the batter into a greased loaf pan.  Bake @ 350 degrees for about an 50 minutes to an hour, or until your toothpick comes out clean.

By the way, FringeMan said this was the best loaf of banana bread I ever made.  I attribute this latest culinary success to the seltzer.

Now I do hate a naked banana bread, so I must ice my banana bread.  Here’s how I do it.

In a saucepan, heat a little milk, cream, or 1/2 & 1/2 with a pad of butter. Oh, and a shot of vanilla extract.  After the butter is melted, start dumping in powdered sugar until your icing has the right taste and consistency.

Yes, stick your finger in it and then lick your finger, but only do this once and make sure your finger is clean!

I’m not adding the linky thing this week, because hardly anyone uses it anyway.  If you have a recipe to share, please leave a link in the comments.  Sometimes a comment with a link doesn’t show up right away, but I’ll be checking throughout the day to make sure your comment appears.

Have a super-d-duper-d weekend!

 

12 thoughts on “Comfort Food Carnival – Week 3

  1. Sara

    Oh my gosh, that is the most decadent banana bread I have EVER seen! I, of course, would have to add chocolate chips to it because if it doesn’t have chocolate, I’m not interested.

    I had to laugh at your pantry description. I have recently gotten into a use everything you have before spending anymore money on food kick, so I’ve been working the pantry bare and expanding my repertoire in the kitchen. It’s amazing the substitutions you can make!!

    My current baking quest is for the perfect pretzel bread. This week, I combined a beer bread recipe with a giant soft pretzel recipe. Not perfect yet, but closer. And by the way, I HATE candy corn too!! My boys, however, love the stuff and as it’s cheaper than most other candy, we keep it in stock.

    Reply
  2. LeAnn

    I love it, I do that too, sometimes it works, but I have had a few fiascos as well.

    Hey girl, I’m back, come check out my new blog!!

    xo
    LeAnn

    Reply
  3. Debra

    Wow, I am going to try the pudding addition if I can find it up here. I never thought of putting icing on banana bread, I must try that too. 😉
    I’ll have to think up a recipe for next time! 🙂
    p.s. Is that a corelle plate I see ???

    Reply

Leave a Reply

