The Raw, Sometimes Ugly Truth

Judging from the number of comments on my last Confessions post, we all need to get things off our chest sometimes.  So because it’s Saturday, and because I’m bored, and because FringeMan is working, and because my house is mostly clean and my dishes are mostly washed….

I offer you Confessions, Round #2.

*  I hate nothing more than opening and washing a container that has been in the refrigerator too long.  You know the ones – the moldy fuzz growing on once edible leftovers that can now be used as a science project.  My confession: I don’t wash them.  I simply throw them out.  Wasteful?  Absolutely!  I just can’t do it.  I confess.

*  I am a night snacker.  I can go all day bypassing goodies and eating small portions or even nothing at all, but when evening comes, it’s all down hill.  My favorite sit-on-the-couch-under-a-warm-blanket snack is a plate of tortilla chips with melted cheddar cheese on them.  I cannot resist.  I crave them.  I truly believe I am deficient in corn.  It’s the only logical reason for craving tortilla chips.

*  I am afraid of heights.  My stomach actually flipped while watching Ice Road Truckers Scariest Roads in The World (or whatever it’s called!).  When Lisa was navigating those shocking roads in India where people drive like a stampede of wild elephants chasing peanuts, I died inside.  Just a little.  It takes all the courage I have to walk across a bridge, or stand by and let my children look off a balcony or something like that.  Almost always, I must look away.

*  I’ve been watching the alligator hunters on TV for the past couple of weeks and in some ridiculous way, I’ve enjoyed it.  Maybe I am just glad I wasn’t born in the swamp.  Maybe I am glad we don’t have alligators in the North, because I know if we did, FringeMan would hunt them too.  Maybe I just like imagining myself in a pair of shiny alligator skin shoes.  I don’t rightly know, but it’s been entertaining.

*  You know how prepared I was for homeschooling right?  I’m running out of stuff to do.  No joke.  It’s my son.  He’s a fifth grader and he’s smarter than me.  I’ll just go ahead and confess, but if you ever tell him, I’ll block you from my blog.  I promise.  I’ll do it as soon as I figure out how.  You saw how much curriculum I bought, didn’t you?  He needs more.  I’m literally making extra stuff up for him to do as we go along.  At this rate, I’ll have to order another set of curriculum by Christmas.

The other day he asked me if he could start his own blog.  I hesitated, because now my child can tell stories about me.

Mmmmmm………

Mom, for a quick second, I felt your pain.

All of it.

If you’re interested in seeing FringeBoy’s blog, let me know in the comments.  I hesitate to link his blog to my own, because I’ve been getting lots (more than 100 a day) of hits off of a questionable site.  His blog is blocked to search engines, so I’ll email you the link if you’d like to see it.  If you have a child that also blogs, let me know.  It will be something my son can read.

Ok, I’ve said far too much.  It really is your turn, and I warn you, your confession(s) better be good. 😉

19 thoughts on “The Raw, Sometimes Ugly Truth

  1. Pingback: I am Versatile…I Think That’s Good « the domestic fringe

  2. Ferree Hardy

    Hey Tricia, Wish I had your energy! See how far behind I am on your blogs? Actually I wanted to comment on the Bed stand reveal, saying “I think we married the same man!” But didn’t want that to be misconstrued. So I’m commenting on this one, wondering if Fringe boy started his blog yet. Plus, I found this blog, and hope you take at it–just seems like a really neat imagination device for homeschooling:
    http://flightsoffancy1.blogspot.com
    Keep on keeping on, you’re great! I love reading your blog.

    Reply
  3. Pingback: The Raw, Sometimes Ugly Truth | Buford Corn Maze a Night of Family Fun

  4. patti

    Oh, MYYY! confession time was not when I needed to pop out of the writers cave…but I loved reading yours.

    Okay. I used to pick the skin off my toes but broke the habit when my pedicurist texted me.
    Like I couldn’t handle that I might be stalked by her!!!
    Blessings,
    Patti
    your son is a doll

    Reply
  5. Laura

    oh FringeGirl,
    I’ve thrown out actual dishes and cutlery. Back in my university days.
    But as I type, I have 3 containers sitting on my counter that I pulled out of the fridge days ago. I got in a “I’m just going to do it” mood, but the counter is as far as they got, and now I fear they are in worse shape having been unrefrigerated for days…sigh…

    Reply
  6. Julie McGoldrick

    Confession #1: I let my babies watch tv. My 1 year old can sing the Wonder Pets theme song. I’m horrified… but morning sickness is really rough on me, and I need a break sometimes.

    Confession #2: I ate my son’s sprinkle donut this morning, and then lied about it. Did I mention that I’m pregnant?

    Confession #3: I am from La, have been swimming in alligator-infested rivers my whole life, and have even been gator hunting. Oh, and the town where those people on that show are based? Half of my family lives there. 🙂 I’m a Cajun gal!

    Reply
  7. caprik

    I’m IN on FringeBoy’s blog! The Boy is always threatening me with that. He usually never gets past asking what he should name it though.

    Hmmm, another confession, how about when I make a grilled cheese I always put the more attractive side up. Leading to Honey’s phrase “burned side down” to describe something not good!

    That’s all I can think of at the moment. It’s either too early, or I am boring.

    Is that alligator show the one with swamp people? Mousey had been watching that last week when she was sick. She asked me if they were speaking in another language!!

    Reply
  8. marytoo

    I confess that my confessions are so many, I don’t even know where to start.

    As a retired homeschool mom, I would seriously like to see Fringe Boy’s blog!

    Reply
  9. Cathy

    I too get fuzzy stuff growing and throw away the dishes….Yuck, I’m not eating food out of those! It’s gross, but mostly I’m just too lazy to try to clean that stuff! lol I bet his blog would be fun to read and who knows maybe you can work that into a school project, by assigning him certain things to write about.

    My confession: I have Ladies’ Bible Study Tuesday night and I still have 3 lessons to complete. I did 2 tonight! In other words, I have done any lessons all week until tonight. I am such a procrastinator. (Hope none of the ladies in my study group read your blog) hahaha

    Reply
  10. robinaltman

    I throw those horrible containers out, too!

    My confession for the day – I lay in bed all day eating egg salad sandwiches with hot sauce, reading, listening to a book on tape, and napping. I didn’t get out of bed until 3p, and it felt soooooooo good! I wish I could start over the day and do it again.

    Reply
  11. Renette Lambrechts

    Oh yes! I agree, go to the library and let him loose in the kid’s reference section! My 8-year-old You are also not alone wrt the containers. Thank you for allowing me to get that off my chest – I can’t confess things like that on my blog, my husband reads it! I understand about the height thing, I get vertigo watching people play playstation. And another thing: If fringeboy has finished so many curriculums this year already, and is interested in starting a blog, why don’t you get him to learn HTML first. He sounds bright enough to understand the concept of source code. And really – right down at the heart of it, it’s like learning another language!

    Reply
  12. Amber Pamper

    I confess that I master skills and get bored of them. Everything I try whether it be a job or a hobby I get high on mastering it then throwing it away. Sad! I know it’s part of my personality though. 😉 Oh and you should get tons and tons of resources from the library instead of ordering another curriculum!

    Reply
  13. Sara

    I’m starting to think that you and I must be long-lost adopted sisters! 🙂 It’s so freeing to know that I’m not the only one who, 1) has fuzzy food growing in the fridge and 2) prefers to just throw the container away.

    Reply
  14. Grandma

    FringeGirl, I can’t wait till FringeBoy tells all about you! Oh, and the pictures he takes should be good too!!!

    Reply
  15. kamana

    how old is your son? my eight year old daughter asked me yesterday if she could start her own blog… I’ve stalled her, I think, for another couple of years, but knowing her, she will be asking me again in a few weeks’ time.

    Reply
  16. Debra

    I throw out those containers too! Don’t tell my hubby. I’m addicted to Hoarders. I too am afraid of heights. I don’t know what to tell you about wonder boy, but I would enjoy reading his blog! 🙂

    Reply
  17. Charming's Mama

    The History channel did a marathon of the show American Pickers a couple of weeks back and I watched the whole thing, well as much as a mother of two young’un can. Lets just say it was on all day, um kay.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

