Why I Can’t Blog

I cannot blog, because I am obsessed.  Last night both FringeKid and I decided to learn to crochet.  A dear woman gifted me some yarn and knitting needles a few months ago, but I cannot knit.  Seriously, I’m less than coordinated, much less, and knitting requires the use of two hands, one brain, and a ball of yarn.  Nope, can’t do it.

Crocheting uses one less needle, and I have vague memories of my grandmother teaching me to crochet when I was a kid.  I remember making a yarn snake that slithered for yards.  Since my grandmother is in heaven and I can’t make a quick roundtrip to ask her how to crochet, and since my mother is far away, I turned to YouTube.  It’s like having your grandmother and a live band all at the click of a mouse.  Modern learning.

I’m about to show you my first attempt.  Promise not to laugh.

I wasn’t planning on making a Christmas tree, but since I did, it will wash my dishes in December.  I was shooting for a square.

Thankfully, I found my mistake.  My second attempt was better.

This square managed to grow into a full scarf for my daughter.

I’m on a roll now!

I guess everybody is getting a new scarf for Christmas.  Too bad my brother and his family live in Florida.  I’ll have to make their scarves extra holy!

13 thoughts on “Why I Can’t Blog

  1. Denise Therese

    My grandmother also taught me to knit and crochet as a child. I didn’t do anything with it until recently, when I decided to make a home business out of it! I too looked to YouTube for inspiration and new stitches, and now I’m compiling a blog in preparation for opening a shop on etsy.com! I wouldn’t have had a clue if my grandmother hadn’t taken such pains to teach me. 🙂

    Check out my blog! http://www.hoganshandiwork.wordpress.com

    Reply
  2. Laura

    congrats! I too tried to knit. I think my grandmother must have taught me at least 3 times, but I couldn’t ‘get it’. I blame it on being left handed. I’ve never tried to crochet though.

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Why I Can?t Blog | Buford Corn Maze a Night of Family Fun

  4. LeAnn

    Now I am exactly the opposite, I learned to knit in fourth grade (whoa, that’s a few years back…LOL) and I still love to knit but I cannot crochet. I can’t get it in my head to use one needle because I am so used to using two. You go girl!!

    xo
    LeAnn

    Reply
  5. Robbyn

    My grandmother also tried to teach me to crochet as a kid. However, I didn’t have the patience for big projects so I made a few pot holder-like things and some doll blankets. Maybe you have inspired me to try again, I’m pretty sure I’m going to end up with a whole bunch of pot holder things though!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

