My Final Recipe…Finally!

I’m never posting a recipe again!

That’s probably not true, but that’s how I feel this morning.  I woke up today and thought, Ahhhhhh!  Friday!!  ALREADY!

This recipe is in honor of fall.  It’s a perfect side dish for Thanksgiving.  I’ve been making it for years, and most people like it.  It’s also easy.

CANDIED YAMS WITH APPLES

* Makes 8 Side-Dish Servings

3 lbs. yams, peeled and cut into 1-inch pieces; 1lb Granny Smith apples, peeled and cut into 1/2 inch pieces; 2 med. onions, cut into 1-inch wedges; 4 tablespoons butter; 1/4 cup honey; 1 teaspoon salt; 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg; 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper

Since I’m not good with measuring, I usually have more apples, yams, and onions than necessary, so I add more of the other ingredients.

Toss all ingredients in a large bowl to combine.  Transfer to a baking dish and bake at 350 degrees, stirring occasionally, until yams are tender – about 1 hour.  Increase oven to 500 degrees and bake until liquid evaporates and yams are browned – 10 to 15 min.  Serve hot.

I got this recipe from a magazine several years ago and it’s been a Thanksgiving staple ever since.  Wish I remembered which magazine, but I do not.

If you have a recipe to contribute, leave your link in the comments please.

Have a great weekend!  My town is trick-or-treating tonight, so I am gearing up for the candy grabbers.  Such fun!!

5 thoughts on “My Final Recipe…Finally!

  1. Pingback: My Final Recipe?Finally! | Buford Corn Maze a Night of Family Fun

  2. patti

    yum!!!
    As my range BLEW OUT Thursday night, this is soooo tempting!!!
    Sigh. We will be living on microwavable things for at least a week and a half.

    Have missed you so much while in the writing cave!!!
    P

    Reply
  3. Debra

    Your recipe looks yummy. It’s so nice your town is trick or treating tonight. Ours always takes place on the day. I hate that when it’s on a Sunday.
    You just tell LeAnn, I’m meeting you first!

    Reply
  4. LeAnn

    Sweetie, I have learned to “never say never”! You are just too much fun!! We really do need to meet someday in person, don’t ya think???

    xo
    LeAnn

    Reply

Leave a Reply

