Artsy Chics

In my house art projects trump science projects any day of the week.  We’ve made Mercury from flour and salt, toothpick people; we’ve created lava, and we’ve failed at demonstrating sonar.  The kids love doing hands-on science.  Me, not so much, but I do love art projects.

If we’re going to make a mess, we may as well have a blast doing it!  That’s my philosophy.  I’m so glad that we work on a well-used table.  I don’t really worry about ruining it, since our messes simply add to its’ character.

If you have kids, and especially if you homeschool, I found a great online art resource.  It called Deep Space Sparkle Art Lessons for Kids.  She’s an art teacher who has all kinds of wonderful ideas for projects.  You can even purchase some of her lessons!

I ordered a lesson on making chickens for $5 and was able to download the entire step-by-step plan and print it out.  The lesson also included making cows and giraffes, so guess what we’re doing next!

I even made a chicken of my own.  I heart chickens…pecking in the yard and on my plate.

Mamma Hen

Native War Rooster

 

Bandito Rooster

Ok, so we’re not going to make it into the Metropolitan Museum of Art, but I think I am going to throw them in a frame and hang them above my kitchen sink.  It was tons of fun.   You should try it!

Can you guess who created which chic?

PS. BABY JAYDA MADE IT THROUGH HEART SURGERY.  PRAISE GOD!  THE DOCTORS SAY TO TAKE IT ONE DAY AT TIME, SO PLEASE CONTINUE TO PRAY.  Thank you all!!!

14 thoughts on “Artsy Chics

  1. Pingback: The Tenacity of Creativity « the domestic fringe

  2. Pingback: Summer Art – Be Inspired to Create With Your Kids « the domestic fringe

  3. Pingback: Jumping Tiger Mom Ugly « the domestic fringe

  4. Pingback: I said THAT? 2010 Blog Recap | the domestic fringe

  5. Pingback: Enthusiastic Projects | the domestic fringe

  6. Pingback: Artsy Chics | Buford Corn Maze a Night of Family Fun

  7. Pingback: Tweets that mention Artsy Chics | the domestic fringe -- Topsy.com

  8. David

    Nice work! I’m going to take a wild stab at it and say…

    Mama Hen – FringeKid
    Native War Rooster – FringeBoy
    Bandito Rooster – FringeGirl

    Am I right?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

