The Unsympathic Therapist

FringeMan is just like this drill sergeant therapist.

I get NO sympathy!

It’s a good thing I never give him my co-pay.

The good doc told me I have an irritable heart, and here I just thought I had an irritable personality.  I guess it all really does begin in the heart!

They put a heart monitor on me for the next twenty-four hours, and wouldn’t you know, it’s quiet as a mouse.  No PVC’s, skipped beats, extra beats, or any other thing-a-ma-gi-gies.  For the last two weeks my heart has been breakdancing in my chest, and now it’s suddenly on good behavior.

Go figure!

So here’s my question of the day and it has nothing to do with therapists or hearts…

When do you put up your Christmas tree?

I’m itching to go buy a new tree, a big one, bigger than me!  I’m done with all trees skinnier than my behind or wearing Phyllis Diller hair.

I think I’ll spend this evening convincing FringeMan of our need for a new tree.

Wish me luck!

21 thoughts on “The Unsympathic Therapist

  1. Pingback: The Unsympathic Therapist | Buford Corn Maze a Night of Family Fun

  2. Pingback: The Unsympathic Therapist | Buford Corn Maze a Night of Family Fun

  3. Hat Chick

    We put up a 12ft real tree in the parlor, then a small tree upstairs with all the kids school ornaments. I would love to have real garland on the banister, but it’s all I can do to keep the tree and poinsettias alive. We usually put our tree up 2 weeks before Christmas because we keep it up until Epiphany. We aren’t hosting Christmas this year, so I’m not really decorating. (That said, the Christmas lights are already up outside and I only need to plug them in the day after Thanksgiving.)

    Reply
  4. Gabriela

    I have the heart thing too. When I’m stressed it goes into PVCs. I wore that 24-hour monitor twice and it yielded nothing. Both times, my heart behaved itself. My doctor opined that I just have an irregular heartbeat and that it’s nothing to be concerned about. I once told him that my heart had been doing that beating thing again and could he please make it stop. We looked at each other with incredulity at what I’d said. I’ve been fine now for a little over a year, but don’t piss me off because then it starts right back up, especially when I’m lying still minding my own business. Go figure. I hope yours will be alright too.

    Reply
  5. Pingback: The Unsympathic Therapist | Buford Corn Maze a Night of Family Fun

  6. caprik

    I like that commercial too, but what is a “jack-wagon”?

    I know just what you mean about your symptoms straightening up at the wrong time. FRUSTRATING.

    I put the tree up the weekend or two after Thanksgiving. So the cats can take it down , piece by piece.

    Reply
  7. Mama Belle

    We usually put our stuff up the weekend after Thanksgiving, but this year we’re actually doing it before Thanksgiving because we’ll be out of town when we typically do.

    Can you believe that our neighbors put theirs up 2 weeks ago? Weird, but I also love it. They love Christmas just as much as me.

    Reply
  8. Laura

    Oh FringeGirl, Every time he throws that tissue box I laugh out loud!
    I don’t have room for a tree so I this year I became all about a wreath. I made one and put it up today.
    You have my blessing to put up your tree (huge tree, bigger than you!) anytime now.
    What’s your tree decorating style? Does your preference get over ruled by children?
    Coloured lights or white ones?

    Reply
  9. Jill

    We usually put ours up the weekend after Thanksgiving. I’ve been longing for a new tree too. We have a big tree, but it’s missing several large branches, so we turn the big hole toward the wall. It’s big enough now Santa could hide in it.

    Reply
  10. robinaltman

    Isn’t it annoying when you have symptoms for a long time, and then your body is fine for your doctor’s visit? Grrrr…. At least your diagnosis sounds pretty benign. I, at least, feel better.

    We don’t have a Christmas tree, so I’m going to admire pictures of yours. I expect a nice one. Don’t disappoint me…

    Reply
  11. Julie McGoldrick

    I hope that everything is okay with you. Good luck!

    We put an angel or a star on top of our tree, switching off each year. I think that both are appropriate! But this year, no tree (at our home), as we will be in La with my family. We will put a tree up there, with my mom’s leftover ornaments. My baby boy will certainly throw all of the ornaments and knock the tree over… so we may enjoy the natural look, and tie the tree to the ceiling. Merry Christmas.

    Reply
  12. Robbyn

    I have a big bay window in my living room where I usually put a 4 ft. tree with my youngest son’s Thomas the Train tracks around it and my Christmas village pieces sit around all that. I usually do that the first weekend of December because I refuse to put out Christmas decorations until after Thanksgiving and our big tree is a real one so we don’t get it until the 15th of December. However this year my front window has been leaking when it rains sometimes and we have yet to repair whatever it is that is causing it, even though we have tried three things so far, so I guess I am decorating later rather than sooner!

    Reply
  13. Charming's Mama

    I think that is one of the funnier Geico commercial, it makes me laugh every time.

    I hate decorating, because sooner or later it all has to come down and while everyone else loves to participate in the putting it all up, I’m left alone when it come time to clean it up. So we are lucky if we have the tree up the week of Christmas.

    Although, I must confess that the quilted wall hanging I did of the Nativity has yet to come off the wall where I hung it two years ago. So you might could say I’ve already started decorating.

    Reply
  14. Jessica Benzakein

    We put up 8 Christmas trees in our house (with only 3 of them being the 4 foot kind… they go in the upstairs bedrooms), so I start Thanksgiving weekend although I’ve been known to start before hand if we aren’t expecting anyone over for Thanksgiving. It takes me about a week to get them all up and decorated. We also put up over 250 feet of real garland so that adds on another 2 days. So, sooner is better for me.

    Reply
  15. Emily@remodelingthislife

    I crack up at that commercial every single time!

    This year we need a new tree and I haven’t decided yet when we’ll get it but I am not at all ready for it to be holiday time, so I think it will be later than sooner.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

