My Buns are Baking

I bet you can’t guess what I’m doing.

Last night after I went grocery shopping, I decided to make a batch of The Pioneer Woman’s Cinnamon Rolls.  If you’ve never made them, your arteries are lucky.  They have more butter than movie theater pop-corn, and more sugar than the candy store; however, they are worth every last calorie, especially if you only make them once a year.  So I sat vigil waiting for my dough to rise and my timer to ding.  It was 12:30 am as I sat drooling over my last pan of sweetness.  I ate one, and wouldn’t you know, the first thing my kids said this morning was, “Who ate a cinnamon roll?”

I had seven pans of rolls and their internal radar, controlled by their sweet-tooth, ratted me out!

Since my kitchen was a disaster this morning, I figured I may as well keep baking.

Please tell me someone else is a messy cook.  I hate being in the minority.

I promise this place was clean the day before.  My countertops were EMPTY.  I just treated them with a blend of mineral oil and beeswax to keep them waterproof.  It’s disturbing to think I can do this much damage in less than twenty-four hours.

So far I’ve made a double batch of these pumpkin-chocolate chip cookies.

And three batches of thumb-print cookies.  They’re my favorite.  I used seedless black-raspberry preserves.

I fear I’ll gain ten pounds by the time Christmas comes.  It’s just that I really don’t trust my cooking, so for the sake of my neighbors, I must try everything.

I’ll make the sacrifice. 😉

Are you baking anything special for the holidays?

 

14 thoughts on “My Buns are Baking

  1. Pingback: Somewhere Between Bah-Humbug and Fluorescent Merry & Bright « the domestic fringe

  2. Pingback: My Buns are Baking | Buford Corn Maze a Night of Family Fun

  3. Charming's Mama

    Looks yummy, you must of had a “Martha” moment.

    I was very careful to only show you one small section of my countertop when I posted my cookie recipe, because the rest of the kitchen was (and still is) a disaster area. But I still plan on making more cookies, gingersnaps, oatmeal scotchies, chocolate chip and more chocolate mint m&m cookies. The offer to send you some is still open, but after seeing all the calorie laden deliciousness you just baked, I totally understand why you’d decline the offer. I think I will send some to my in-laws.

    Reply
  4. Laura

    well, you already saw my tarts.
    Tomorrow I’m making cookies and icing the tarts and making caramel popcorn!
    I’m totally going to gain at least 10 pounds. Wanna be virtual walking buddies after Christmas?

    Reply
  5. Jill

    I am a very messy cook. So I usually feed my children the goodness of my baking and then comment that the least they can do is clean up after me. Sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn’t. And their internal radars always rat me out too.

    Reply
  6. robinaltman

    Yum! No, I’m not baking, and I’m really afraid that you can’t be objective about your own baking. I feel I should beta taste your cookies. I’ll be there on Sat. Please save one of each. And coffee. We’ll need coffee.

    Reply
  7. Chrissy Spear

    Your stuff looks good. That very first line, it just reminded me of Ray Steven’s, It’s Me Again Margaret :o)

    Reply
  8. pilar

    My girls are really wanting me to do some baking. I promised them we would do sugar cookies so…. I see messy kitchen in my horizon 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

