A Child of the 80’s

I was born in the mid …um…to late, but mostly mid late 1970’s.  Each and every childhood memory I have is right out of the 80’s.

Hello, my name is Tricia.  I am a child of the 80’s, and I am proud of my side pony-tail.

Can I get a witness?

I don’t really miss the neon colors, or the pinstriped (colored pinstriped) jeans, or my leg warmers.  I may miss my barretts that said “gag-me-with-a-spoon,” but just a little.  What I really miss is…

the SITCOMS!

I mean, tell me you didn’t watch Growing Pains, Who’s the Boss, Family Ties, Alf, The Jeffersons, Silver Spoons, The Cosby Show, The Facts of Life, Greatest American Hero, Fresh Prince, Perfect Strangers…

Are you remembering now?

The 80’s was the bastion for bad half-hour television, only I LOVED these shows!

Didn’t you?

I even had a crush on Jason Bateman.

I really wish these reruns were on.  I would watch every. single. day.

And don’t even get me started on the 90’s.

One man…

SULLY

They actually sell the Dr. Quinn Medicine Woman DVD collection.  Before I die, I will buy it and watch Sully every episode.

Now we’ve established that I love cheesy TV, but I never in my wildest dreams considered the fact that I would birth a child right out of an 80’s sitcom.

But. I. did.

Yup.

I have my very own Alex P. Keaton.

And I’ll vote for my young republican when he grows up.

Go ahead, tell me about your love for 80’s TV.  Just be sure to include your crushes! Okay.

27 thoughts on “A Child of the 80’s

  1. Pingback: Hello Monday – Friday Night Edition | the domestic fringe

  2. Pingback: I said THAT? 2010 Blog Recap | the domestic fringe

  3. Pingback: A Child of the 80?s | Buford Corn Maze a Night of Family Fun

  4. patti

    FringeGirl, you are SO FUN! My favorite soulmate crit partner and I had lunch Tuesday and she raved about Dr. Quinn Medicine Woman. It doesn’t hurt that her name is Quinn!!! 🙂

    Sadly, I’m not that into most of the shows you listed.
    Must be a 70s problem.

    Merry Christmas!!!!!!!

    Reply
  5. kadja2

    I didn’t watch much TV either. I didn’t go to movies much either. However I don’t miss the spandex, the shoulder pads, the big ass hair and that gawd awful overdone eye shadow. I didn’t like it then or now. I was more into punk and heavy metal though. However, I didn’t discount a lot of what came out on MTV…I mean, nobody can deny that Duran Duran changed video forever and had more cojones than many of their new wave counterparts when they put “Girls on Film” out.

    I’m not a feminazi, but I don’t think they exploited women either. I even watched Rick Springfield like a LOT of normal females did. Eurythmics was also high on my list–but I loved ‘Til Tuesday as well. However, there was just something about the Sex Pistols that made my day back then–even though someone tossed my recordings of them! I never found out which family member did it either, but they sure friggin’ heard about it!

    Reply
  6. David

    OK, I feel very old now. Thanks a lot! lol I was in college in the early 80’s. And sort of getting my adult life started after that. I don’t remember watching all that much TV back then except for some reruns of Gunsmoke and Little House on the Prairie. Can’t really say I had any TV crushes either. God, I’m not only old, I’m boring!

    Reply
  7. Heidi

    Thank heavens for the new HD converter boxes! We catch all of those on the RTV channel here. My two boys just LOVE the A-team, Knight Rider, Hardy Boys/Nancy Drew (with Shaun Cassidy) and Voyagers. Never a worry about inappropriate content, either.

    Reply
  8. ALVN of WhisperWood Cottage & Junkologie

    Oh, there are soooo many 80s sitcoms! Growing Pains, Diff’rent Strokes, The Golden Girls, The Facts of Life, Who’s the Boss…the list goes on!! I didn’t see Dr. Quinn in the 80s, but I’ve been loving the re-runs on satellite! Crushes included Ricky Schroeder and Michael J. Fox.

    Reply
  9. Charming's Mama

    Okay, ditto on your list, well except for Alf. I loved Magnum P.I. and Remington Steele and even Matlock and dare I say it Murder She Wrote. Used to watch re-runs faithfully with my Mom. Good times.

    My nieces wanted me to marry Joey (Dave Coulier) from Full House, but really he could never compare to Tom Selleck and Pierce Brosnan – oh la la!

    Reply
  10. Jenn

    I think calling your “feelings” for Jason Bateman a “crush” a little understated, but I did love your side ponytail! I’m a witness, have to check to see if I have pictures though……..

    The sitcoms of the 80’s are sooooooooooo much better than most of the shows today. LOVED The GREATEST AMERICAN HERO!!!!!! I have a whole list of shows. MACGYVER!!!!!!!! Not that he is considered a sitcom, but they managed to time it perfectly, the series ended just before I went to college.

    Along with the A-Team, Riptide, Remington Steele, there was Knight Rider, Street Hawk, Airwolf and the list could go on and on.

    Reply
  11. Karen

    My all time favorite was the Cosby Show!
    I loved watching Family Ties in order to see Michael J Fox!
    In the 90’s my kids were born. Dr Quinn was one of the best shows to watch when it was on. I think everyone I knew that watched it really liked Sully!
    It is interesting that you mentioned Dr Quinn. Went to the library yesterday and found that they have all the seasons of Dr Quinn on DVD and I got season one for the next two weeks.

    Reply
  12. Jill

    I am slightly older than you. I loved a lot of those sitcoms (and I will also vote for your young Republican!) but I also liked some of the hour-long programs, although I’m not sure they can be dignified with the term “drama”. Who can forget A-Team, Riptide and Remington Steele? That was a Tuesday night line up full of eye candy!

    Reply
  13. Debra

    Ok, if FringeBoy is Alex Keaton than your daughter must be Mallory. 😉 I loved Family Ties but I was a young Mum then putting babies to sleep so I didn’t get to watch much TV. (that’s a big lie!) I forgot about Sullly. Oh my. 😉

    Reply
  14. caprik

    I graduated in 1980 and this decade was probably the least amount of tv I ever watched. I do however remember watching Magnum PI and seeing some Growing Pains.
    Of course, Tom Selleck was the one I loved!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

