So It’s a New Year

I’m not quite ready to embrace 2011 with open arms.  2010 is still in my system, even though I am trying my best to shake her.

I may have begun this new year with a wicked awful cooking streak and an extra fifteen pounds, but I am not sad to see 2010 end.  I don’t like to speak for the masses, but I think it was a tough year for everyone.

Although I’m kicking the old year to the curb, I think I’m gonna ease into the newness of this year.  It’s very uncharacteristic of me to ease my way into anything except a freezing swimming pool, and I’ve not had the luxury of experiencing a swimming pool that was more than ten degrees above ice.  I’m usually a jump into any mess opportunity with my arms flailing, my mouth yapping, and my legs running; however, I’m holding back on the New Year’s excitement.

I haven’t made any resolutions.

I did promise myself I would not eat any cookies, cakes, cupcakes, or other baked goods until my birthday in February.  If I don’t drop a pound by then, I’ll know it wasn’t the deserts making my jeans tighter, but the dryer.

Although I haven’t made any resolutions, there are some things that I desperately want in this new year.  I am not setting the course and determining that they will be, but I am full of hope and prayers.

I want to be healthy this year.

Not just me, but my family.  2010 was not a healthy year.

I want to live abundantly.

I’ve already waxed poetic on that thought, so I’ll not elaborate.

I want to have faith for each day.

The kind of faith that assures me today’s efforts are not in vain.

I can’t just flick a switch and get these things because the calendar flipped a month.  This year I need to ease into each day keeping my mind and heart focused on The One who can give me my desires.  But even if He doesn’t give me my desires, He will still be good.  I will still be happy.

Hebrews 12:1  Wherefore seeing we also are compassed about with so great a cloud of witnesses, let us lay aside every weight, and the sin which doth so easily beset us, and let us run with patience the race that is set before us,

I’m taking it slow, and hoping that slow and steady will win the race.

How about you?

Did you make a list of resolutions this year?

If you did, will you share?

9 thoughts on “So It’s a New Year

  1. Pingback: Tossed Like a Load of Dirty Socks in The Spin Cycle « the domestic fringe

  2. Jamie Tobin

    Thanks for stopping by for a visit.I LOVE your blog,i can’t stop looking through your blog.You have a very beautiful family.I wish you a very safe and healthy journey this year.Please stop by and visit more.
    Blessings

    Reply
  3. LeAnn

    Well pardon the expression but I suck at resolutions so I prefer to call them “changes I need to make”. However, the biggest thing for me in 2011 is to dig deeper in my faith and to make devotions something I do everyday and quit being a slacker.

    xo
    LeAnn

    Reply
  4. Charming's Mama

    I’m not ready for the new year either, I find that I am so full of uncertainty and angst that I am on the verge of tears if I let myself think about it too much. And mostly it’s unfounded.

    The only resolution I made is to not make any . . . really it’s the only one I’ve ever been able to keep.

    Cheers.

    Reply
  5. Mindy

    He loves us. Great song, fg. As for me? The word is “minimize.” Minimize useless things, people, thoughts. Minimize my booty. Minimize clutter. Minimize stress. You know. Minimize. That’s it. Pray. ~Mindy

    Reply
  6. Debra

    You and the family have certainly had a rough year. I pray things will only look up for this one. I don’t usually make resolutions ’cause I just can’t keep them! 😉

    Reply
  7. Amber Pamper

    Oh yes I made a list !!! of 107 tasks to complete. :O Let’s see if I keep up with them. 😉 Hoping this year is better for you I know it’s been tough and the hospital could see less of you guys.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

