All That is My Life

Aren’t you in the mood for a senseless recap of all that is my life?

No?

Me either.  It’s just that I have nothing else to talk about tonight and I haven’t used nearly enough words today to skip blogging.

Let’s first discuss the Christmas gift my mum-in-law gave me for Christmas.  Since we’re going all the way back to the Little Town of Bethlehem, it’s going to be a long post.

FringeMummy (we’ll call her that for today and hope she doesn’t mind) gave me this most amazing makeup mirror for Christmas.  My mum (not the giver of the mirror – keep up please) and I fought for turns in front of the all-telling/all-showing mirror.  It’s a lovely silver mirror that shows pretty faces on one side, and then you flip it to see HORROR, PAIN, SHOCK, DESPAIR, FEAR…

I could go on and on.

I saw things growing on my face that are still unknown to the human race.  I have this love/hate relationship with the mirror now.  It draws me.  When my facial hairs even think I’m getting close to the mirror they quiver in fear.  They practically jump off my face before my tweezers can get near.

Follicles abound.

I am thanking my lucky stars she did not send me a full length mirror.

FringeMummy, I canNOT handle full length 8x’s optical zoom.

Just want to be clear.

Currently there are no openings in the local psychiatric center.  I should stay clear of my mirror for a while.

On to other news…

I continue to purge, clean, clear, and dispose of unnecessary junk in my home.  Surprisingly I’ve convinced FringeBoy to scale down his library.  For the record, I love books.  I love that my son loves books, but he’s encroaching on my bookshelf space.  He has two bookshelves in his room and he’s overflowed to the bookcases in the living room.  It was certainly time to scale back.

If you want to see what we cleared, click HERE.

It’s my Ebay listing, so if you have young children, you may actually be interested in some of these books – Magic Tree House, Bernenstain Bears, A to Z Mysteries, Boxcar Children.

Look at this blasted thermometer.  The inside of my house hasn’t seen 98 degrees since August.  I am bordering on hypothermia people.  This is not the time for my thermometer to fail me.  Oddly enough the outside temperature is accurate.  I am freezing to death one icy cell at a time.

It’s not real dust you’re seeing on this thermometer, it’s a faulty lense – in the camera – in your eye maybe.

Should I even move on to the subject of snow?

No, I didn’t think so.  Since 49 out of 50 states have it, who wants to talk about it!  And I can only imagine how much white fluffy stuff my Canadian friends are buried under.

But, I am cold.  Like frozen.

And also sad.

There are so many to pray for in our world.  You know this.  You watch the news just like me.  I have a heavy heart for many tonight.

Ok, that is enough for now.

Be well my friends.

Pray for those around you.

16 thoughts on “All That is My Life

  1. robinaltman

    I only wear my glasses to drive or watch movies. I love a little blur on the world. It looks so much nicer that way. No magnifying mirrors for me!

    Love the thermometer!

    Reply
  2. kloppenmum

    Oh my goodness…those mirrors are insane! There are things on my face which aliens wouldn’t recognise…I just don’t look now, which might explain the slightly off pitch make-up (the ocassional time I wear it)!

    Reply
  3. David

    I have such a mirror, myself. It is how I learned of the stray hairs that grow along the edges of my ears. I have a feeling I was the last to know. Oh well.

    Reply
  4. Joyce

    hmmm…a senseless recap of my life is kind of the theme of my blog everyday. Sigh. And I turned 50 this year. I definitely don’t want to see anything magnified! I haven’t been here in a while…I won’t bore you with the details but let’s just say half my bookmarks disappeared and magically reappeared this week. I’m pretty sure I did not do this.

    Have a nice weekend!

    Reply
  5. Army Mom

    You are so flippin’ funny! I can SOOO relate to the mirror! I picked up a 10X mirror to stick on the corner of my 8X lighted mirror (because since I turned 40 (5 years ago) I cannot see the end of my nose without reading glasses!) and OH MY GOODNESS! The things I have extracted, popped and squeezed… You wouldn’t believe. Or, perhaps you would! The good news is that some things I thought might require plastic surgery were things I could take care of on my own!

    I bought myself a Clairsonic facial cleanser machine-thing for Christmas and have been scrubbing the skin off my face ever since! Really… I came back to work from Christmas vacation with scabs under both eyes and currently, there is a scab-patch on the side of my nose. But I’m not giving up! I believe that I can eventually be successful at erasing the years from my face!

    Happy New Year!

    Reply
  6. Tori Nelson

    In an ironic twist that would haunt my self esteem for years, I had one of those mirrors and it literally CRACKED one morning while I was staring at a million clogged pores. I haven’t been able to look at one of those things ever since!
    I’m with you about the full length 8x zoom…NOBODY needs to see themselves like that.

    Reply
  7. Jill

    I only take short glances in the mirror. Without my contacts in. It’s all I can handle.

    You’re gonna hate me for this, but–I live in the 50th state–the one that doesn’t have snow. And I’m freezing, too. Sorry. : )

    Reply
  8. Mom

    I was tempted to get a mirror like yours but figured I would see too many flaws. Without my glasses in a normal mirror I look great!!!

    Reply
  9. kadja2

    Well, this year it wouldn’t matter if you went to Florida because their weather sucks too lately! LOL I might have to visit a psychiatric center if I don’t get back down toward Austin soon enough! ;-D

    Reply
  10. Sara

    Okay, and I’m only saying this as a friend, but I think it might be time to invest in a Florida time-share. 🙂 You could do one of those all expenses paid promo weekend things just to get some sun for free. Or, at least, tune into the island getaway programs on Travel Channel or HGTV. Just saying…:-)

    Reply
  11. LeAnn

    Ya I’m all for the zoom mirror or else my make-up would probably look like a clown.

    I know what you mean, there is a heaviness on the earth right now, that’s why I’ve been reading my Bible every morning. It gives me so much joy and hope.

    xo
    LeAnn

    Reply
  12. adventuresofamiddleagemom

    Oh boy, oh boy, OH BOY. I remember the first time I looked at myself in a magnifying mirror. I almost screamed out loud and I was in a fancier store (now defunct) called Fortunoffs!

    Now I use one every morning. . .because it’s the only way I can see my eyes clearly enough to put eyeliner around them! That’s my middle age!

    See what you have to look forward to?!

    Reply
  13. Debra

    Strange thermostat! I’m glad you’ve joined the purging band wagon. I hate getting rid of books but I do it anyway. You wouldn’t be able to walk around the house if I didn’t. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

