A Case of Cabin Fever

Today’s pretty much a wrap.  If I’m going to endeavor to create the illusion of a happy morning mom, I guess I should catch some zzzz’s before midnight.

Bright and early tomorrow morning, I will be chatting with the receptionists who thinks I sleep my days away.   I at least need to wake up in time to shower and apply eye brightening makeup.

You know, the nap in a stick.

Highlighter.

Not the yellow kind, the makeup kind.

Friends and chance readers  alike, I fear I am on the verge of Cabin Fever.  Let’s not forget what happened in The Shining.  I need to get out!

This has nothing to do with highlighter.

God must have known about my cabin fever, because  a kind pastor’s wife from the next town over let me know that her church was hosting a parent’s night out.

Hal-le-lu-yah!

I did the dance of joy.

My kids will eat candy, they’ll watch a movie, and play with friends.  I will GO OUT.

I know I need to get out, mainly because I’ve stopped caring that we still have Christmas lights on our porch.  FringeKid keeps turning them on until I freak.  We mustn’t call attention to our laziness with blinking lights and neon signs.  This town already thinks I sleep all day.

In all fairness, who wants to hang off of a ladder in the snow?

Not me.

Apparently not FringeMan.

The kids are still a little short.

Speaking of short…

We have a mouse in the house.  I was calmly sitting at the kitchen table drinking a cup of tea and thawing my insides, when I suddenly heard tiny scratching sounds.  I assumed it was a bug.  Colossal cockroaches scurried through my brain – cold resistant cockroaches.

But it was a mouse.  A little black mouse.

I freaked.

The roaches in my head ran.

I actually think I scared the mouse more than he scared me.

As if that’s possible.

Because I wasn’t thinking rationally, I called FringeMan on his cell.

He laughed.

Where is my night in shining armour when I need him?

Not taking down the Christmas lights.  That’s for sure.

If I weren’t so happy about parent’s night out, I would be mad at the mouse in my house.

I am not mad; I am happy.

On that happy note…

Goodnight night bloggy friends.

Or

Good Morning!

Depends on when you are reading.  Either way, I’ll be up, because I don’t sleep too much.  Nope.  I’ll be up and working. Yup. I’ll flash you morse code in Christmas lights.

M-E-A-W-A-K-E       M-E-W-O-R-K -I-E

I think the crack on my head earlier did some damage.  The fireplace was in my way.

Anyone else still have their Christmas lights up?

13 thoughts on “A Case of Cabin Fever

  1. Kelly

    Check at Home Depot or Lowes – they have “humane” mouse traps. You know, those “you can check in anytime you like, but you can never leave” type. (Now I’ve got The Eagles “Hotel California” playing in my head.) The only thing is, once he’s in there, you need to actually pick it up while he’s freaking out inside, then release him into the “wild”. Perhaps FringeKid will jump at the chance to do that.

    Reply
  2. Cathy

    Your post cracked me up – although I don’t think I’m totally awake this afternoon, so I had a little trouble keeping up. haha

    Love the new look of your blog. It matches your kitchen and livingroom colors.

    Sorry, no I do not still have my Christmas lights up. But that’s because my girls took them down and put them away, not me. 🙂

    Reply
  3. Me On Life

    Yes, lights are still up, as is the Christmas tree complete with decorations and a lovely decorated mantle. Hey, I have a hard time letting go of the holiday spirit;)

    Reply
  4. Tori Nelson

    “Nap in a stick”…Haha! Genius! And don’t fret the light situation too much. We were so lazy over the holidays, we didn’t put any up because we knew that would mean taking them down. Bah Humbug!

    Reply
  5. Charming's Mama

    Yes the Christmas lights are still up and my husband has been home for five weeks, so I don’t know what his excuse is. Depression, cabin fever maybe.

    Glad you are getting a night out, wish I had me one.

    Reply
  6. Ferree Hardy

    Tricia, Lights? Who cares about lights? Just let trees and vines grow over them. My tree is still up! But only 2/3 of it.
    A sad sad story on my blog. I’ll be lucky to have it down by June. Especially since I’d rather read your blog than face the tree again. Hope your night out is great!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

