Grab Him By The Neck & Kiss Him

My mother Some random blog reader recently complained that I don’t take any good pictures of my kids.  I have two very legitimate reasons for this photographic failure.

I created that balloon masterpiece.  Is there no limit to a mother’s talent?

Don’t answer that!

1.  I am not a photographer

2.  My kids are old enough to complain

When children are little you can follow them around with a camera and document every blink of their eye, but once hey hit the age of complaint, it’s all over.  Telling them to smile for a photo is a lot like telling them to stop picking their nose.  It just isn’t going to happen.

As you all know, this weekend FringeBoy turned eleven.  Over a batch of chocolate chip pancakes, his father and I asked him about his goals for this his eleventh year of life.  Once we got past the “I don’t knows,” and “I’m only a kid, so I don’t have goals” excuses, we got our answer.

“I want to build a rocket, add wings, attach it to a remote control car and launch it.”

Oh.

When I was eleven, I’m sure I wanted to see if Barbie could kiss Ken.

Or something like that.

I see much destruction in my future.  I wonder if NASA will let him come play at their place?

I wrote out Happy Birthday in chocolate chips, not to be mistaken for braille.

Because I care about your sweet tooth, I will share my quick cake secrets.  Take a box of ordinary cake mix.  When it says to add water, add MILK.  When it says to add oil, add ONE stick of softened butter.  It’s so much better.

Peanut Butter Icing

1 cup smooth and creamy peanut butter

1 stick of butter softened

Approximately 3 or 4 tablespoons of half & half or heavy cream

Approximately 1/2 bag of powdered sugar.  The BIG bag, not the little box

A shot of vanilla extract

Taste it and you’ll know if it needs more sugar.  Add extra cream to get the texture you want.

Marshmallow Icing

1 stick butter, softened

1 7oz. tub of marshmallow fluff

Approximately 3 or 4 tablespoons of half & half or heavy cream

Approximately 1/2 bag of powdered sugar

A small shot of vanilla extract

I may not be able to make a can of condensed soup, but I actually enjoy making cakes.  Is it any wonder?

I had to grab him my throat in order to get a birthday kiss.  Don’t worry, I left bright pink smooch marks behind. 😉

10 thoughts on “Grab Him By The Neck & Kiss Him

  1. tori

    Haha! Love the “not to be mistaken for braille”. Good luck with FringeBoy’s NASA experiments. I’d say that should be a Father & Son day in which you and FringeKid high-tail it to the local nail salon.

    Reply
  2. Sara

    I’m absolutely a “shot of vanilla” kind of girl. I can’t bake without it and I never measure!

    I’ve started realizing that I have few “nice” pictures of my kids either, but it’s because they spend most of their time being total goofballs. I think pictures should speak truth, every goofy bit of it! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

