Eeyore, Green Beans, My Blog, & Murder

I am in a contemplative mood today, more Eeyore and less Tigger.  Maybe it’s the dreariness of the day or the fact that I’m having a terrible time breathing today.

I’m not sure.

All I know is that I’m spending the entire day in the kitchen feeling a bit melancholy.  Probably because I’m spending the day in the kitchen!  The kids made pizza for lunch and I’m simmering enough meatballs in sauce to carry me through several ‘I don’t want to cook’ days.

I’m even making a list today and I despise making lists, they have a way of making me feel like a failure; however, today I am embracing the list.

FOOD – I would be happy living off tater-tots, steak, and green beans.  Anyone who knows me well, knows I hate vegetables.  Sorry Mrs. Obama, but I’ve vowed to be honest here on the Fringe.

I don’t understand my green bean cravings, but I cook them several times a week and eat huge portions of stringy, green vegetables.  I’m concerned.  It’s not me.

I’ve sworn off buying bags of grated cheese.  I hate them.  First, they don’t melt like real cheese.  Second, they are all low-fat.  Low fat cheese is not worth eating.  Again, forgive me for going against the grain of healthy, non-obese American living.

I vow to grate (or make my children grate) real cheese from this day forward.

BLOG – Did you know I considered scrapping my blog this winter?  No, I doubt I mentioned it.  I simply lost my reason to write.

I’m not blogging to keep my family up-to-date on our adventures, because most of my family doesn’t read my blog.

I’m not necessarily chronicling the lives of my children, because one day they would hate me for splaying their lives across the internet.  I am very selective about my ‘sharing’.

I upkeep a generally shallow blog.  It’s not often I post a heartfelt, life-changing post of depth; however, I like being shallow on my blog.  We are serious so often in life…I consider my blog a sanctuary, an escape.

That’s why I keep blogging.

Besides, FringeMan wouldn’t let me quit.  He’s afraid of me spending my extra words on him.

WRITING – Remember when I felt all writerly and inspired?  I started writing immediately.  My problem is that my story, while funny and entertaining, lacks a plot.  No plot = No book.

I could insert a plot, but I’m just not feelin’ it.

Back to the drawing the board.

I still think it can be a good story.  It’s not dead, just sleeping.

Another story (with a plot) keeps playing in my mind.  I wake up thinking about this story, but it’s not anything like my normal writing.   It’s about a young woman from NY, a photographer, who finds her grandmother gruesomely murdered in her home in Maine.  She decides to give up her career and move back to Maine.  Into her grandmother’s home.

I don’t know if it will make the leap from my imagination to my computer, but I’m considering writing the story, even if just for my blog.

It has a plot.  A good plot…I think.

What’s on your list?

What haven’t you been sharing lately?

What Pooh Character are you most like today?

21 thoughts on “Eeyore, Green Beans, My Blog, & Murder

  1. Cathy

    I just finished reading another blogger going through the same thing. It’s gotta be the long cold winter. I’m so tired of it. I’ve been dreaming of moving to FL to be near the beach and Disney World. So far, hubby hasn’t felt that God is calling him there. So I guess we’ll be staying in OH! ha

    I’ve been feeling like my blog has been extremely boring lately, but I’m hoping it’ll pick up again. Although, I’m not sure it’s ever been that great, but I’ve enjoyed doing it and I’ve enjoyed getting to know others (like you). So I’m glad your hubby talked you into continuing on with the blog. Remember we don’t have to be profound all the time. You are fun to read and you make me laugh. Take care my friend and know that winter will soon be over!

    Reply
  2. caprik

    I am surprised at the number of posts I have read TODAY talking about this same malaise. I confess I am feeling it too. I still love blogging, but my mind seems dull and unfocused. Maybe it is winter blahs. I certainly didn’t feel like posting about my health and hospital visit.
    I am going to ride it out because I love having a little journal of our family life. This too shall pass, right?!
    As far as a character? Sorry, the best fit lately is Eeyore. But no doom and gloom. Just lethargic and slow.

    Reply
  3. robinaltman

    I’m interpreting this as you were thinking about quitting blogging (past tense) but that you’ve come to you senses. I love your blog. I’d miss it terribly. I’d cry. I’d become constipated. I’d wear orange with fuschia every day. I’d never find out that fuschia has an “h” in it.

    I had to stop blogging for a little recently when my dad got sick and I was a bit overwhelmed with running around. My mom is extremely private, and would have died if I blogged about my dad, but that’s all I felt like writing about. Quite the dilemma. Luckily he’s okay, and I didn’t have to embarrass my poor mom by baring my soul on line.

    Reply
    1. the domestic fringe Post author

      Robin, yes I thought about it. Past tense. FringeMan talked me out of it. I’m glad you father is doing ok. I didn’t realize that’s why you went on a break. I’m going to keep him in my prayers.

      Reply
  4. Jill

    PLEASE don’t stop blogging! I would be devastated! Even though we’ve never met in person, I feel like we have become friends through blogging. If you stop, then our friendship stops! I know we’ll say we’ll keep in touch through facebook and email, but that’s not realistic. We don’t do that now. : )

    And why does everyone seem to think that if a blog is not continually deep, it’s too shallow and has no reason for existence? Giving people a reason to smile is a HUGE reason for existing. I don’t always make people smile, but I do at least make them grateful that their lives are not mine. For that reason alone, I need to keep blogging. : ) Come on, keep it up! Show me that smile! (I’m breaking into theme songs from Growing Pains here. See how earnest I am?) : )

    Reply
  5. Deb

    Oh my goodness! Please don’t stop blogging. I need your humour and deep spiritual thoughts on a regular basis. I’m sure it’s the rain that has you down or maybe it’s the green beans. 😉

    Reply
  6. Mom

    Keep blogging. And hey, I’m family (I still am,right?) and I read and re-read all your posts!!!
    You make us smile and laugh when we read your posts.

    Reply
  7. Alyson (New England Living)

    Ohhh, I’m very intrigued with your book idea! Go for it! See where it takes you. I’m sort of in the same boat. The whole reason I wanted my netbook for my birthday was to write a novel on. So, I want to start my writing adventure too. Let us know how it goes!

    Cheese is like a religion to me and I DESPISE pre-shredded cheese. It has a waxy taste and no flavor, and doesn’t melt like it should, as you mentioned. We must be a lazy people if we’d rather eat tasteless, waxy cheese than just grating it ourselves! But it sooo worth the extra two minutes to have freshly grated cheese.

    Reply
  8. Expressmom

    I’m Tigger today! All Tigger all the time! Tigger! Tigger! Tigger!

    What’s shallow anyway?
    People read your blog & then feel happy.
    What could be more noble than that?

    Good luck with the novel.
    If you have never accomplished writing a novel, but have tried, perhaps you should try ONE YEAR ADVENTURE NOVEL. (Google it.) I’ve used in my homeschool curriculum. But, I think it would be great for a new writer to help them learn how to put a book together.

    Reply
  9. Sara

    Okay, if you ever quit blogging, you have to e-mail me on a daily basis telling me of all of your adventures! You can’t quit blogging. People need you and your perspective!!

    Second, I LOVE the book idea!! I already want to read it. So, get going on that, would you?

    Third, we became a grating family several years ago. Grated cheese melts better, tastes better and somehow seems fresher. I also love green beans, although I prefer canned to frozen.

    Okay, what am I not sharing? Hmmm… my sister signed up for Weight Watchers again and I’m using all of her online stuff which she’s technically not supposed to share. But, I love donuts and Pepsi and would really like to make both a regular part of my diet. I’m teaching third grade for the rest of the year, am grateful for the work, but find it incredibly boring. Oh, and I yelled at my oldest to leave me alone the other morning and made him cry. So, there you go! 🙂

    BTW, we’re going to Florida this Spring, and I think you should go too!! 🙂

    Reply
  10. Lorie

    I feel the same way about preshredded cheese as you do. It just does not melt as well.

    I think we need to take lighthearted looks at life and your blog provides that. I, too, feel my blog is way shallow and I’d like to take a jump out into deeper waters, but I’m *scared.* Blogging is low on my list right now which is sad because I just spent the better part of three weeks doing a blog transfer.

    I’ve been in the kitchen today too. It’s rainy and dreary and there’s no place else I’d rather be.

    The murder book idea sounds very intriguing!

    Reply
  11. bridgesburning

    Those meatball days do it every time. Your blogs are an inspiration to newbies like me and anytime you bring a chuckle, laugh or smile like you so often do is not a waste. Chuckles are never shallow.
    I miss Erma Bombeck and there is so much of your writing that takes me there. Besides you are one terrific woman. How do I know? Words regardless of the content are always honest and you..the real you shines through. Hang in there!!
    PS I wish I knew what character I was..still trying to figure that ou!

    Reply
  12. adventuresofamiddleagemom

    FringeGirl, hang in there! It’s probably the prolonged lack of sunshine and warm weather that’s got you down. You just wait til the sun shines on you and then you’ll be back to your old self.
    I get a kick out of your blog; you may think you are “shallow,” but it’s entertaining. Keep it up, FringeGirl!
    I love Winnie the Pooh. I’m mostly Rabbit. Go figure.

    Reply
  13. Jenn

    HEY!!! What about the part of your family who does read your blog??????? Don’t write for those who don’t read it. Write for those who do!!!!! It helps me keep up with you, especially when we can’t always sit for a couple of hours and yack!!!
    Go with the new story/plot, get your ideas on paper and see where it takes you.
    Don’t worry about JC and Annaliese, once they get past being horrified (probably in their 30’s or 40’s – ha ha ha, just kidding), they will love the fact that you took the time and you thought enough about their antics to document them.
    I think I’m piglet. He’s just cute – so that’s me, I’m just cute today. 😉
    And I’m making Shepherd’s Pie, actually in the process. I’m making it with homemade mashed potatoes, rather than boxed. I just like them better. We’ll see how it works out.
    I have the backdoor open today. It’s a heavy breeze, but it smells really good outside and MY TULIPS are starting to come up!! YEAH!!!!
    And I’m on a carrot kick, I just keep munching on them.
    That’s all folks!!!!

    Reply
  14. TheIdiotSpeaketh

    You should pursue this new story. Try typing out an outline of the plot and then have a few close friends read it and give you feedback on it. If they like it, give it a shot! Good luck!

    Reply
  15. Cher

    I know the feeling. I’ve quit blogging despite several encouraging emails from readers asking me to take it up again, despite being contacted by two cancer blogs wanting to list my site for their readers. I’ve even quit reading most blogs, ones I used to enjoy. Oh, well. The world will live without my voice. Yours, on the other hand, is a voice we need. Keep writing. And go for that new plot!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

