Seeing Butterflies & Sunflowers

In order to avoid being a grumpy weather girl, this morning I made a promise on facebook – to be silent.

I’ve already broken my promise with complaints, but you gotta admit, I have something to complain about!

It rained for two days before last night’s dump, so this is all fresh snow.  I opened my back door and snapped this picture.  That’s my patio table with a fresh mound of snow on it.  What you cannot tell by the photo is that just in front of the patio table there is a wall and a three-step drop.

At this rate, I’ll never get to wear my cute new spring shoes.

If any one of you dares to tell me about your weekend beach adventure or that you wore shorts and flip-flops yesterday, I’ll sink into a depression as deep as my snow drifts.

Please keep silent.  I beg you.

And yes, we did take a snow day even though we are homeschooling.  We need the six hours and eight hands to dig out.

Excuse me now while I go pour over the new Pier One Spring catalog I received in the mail.  I will imagine myself drinking pink lemonade on a deck overlooking warm blue waters with clear, sunny skies.

I already see butterflies and sunflowers in my future…

20 thoughts on “Seeing Butterflies & Sunflowers

  1. pilar

    It is cold and rainy here in AL if that makes you feel any better 🙂 I can’t wait for my flip flops though…..

    Reply
  2. prayersfromthepeanutgallery

    That looks absolutely miserable! I think one day like that would be fun, but it seems everyone’s getting absolutely hammered with snow this year. P.S. I take snow days and we live in the desert. Just because.

    We’re going to have a moment of silence for your sanity this week, and pray that the seasons change soon.

    Reply
  3. Jill

    If you are looking through spring catalogs and picturing butterflies, then you’ve not lost the weather battle yet. Before you know it, you’ll be complaining about how hot it is and debating about whether or not you want to homeschool through the summer. Those wonderful days are coming! : )

    Reply
  4. Charming's Mama

    Would it make you feel better if I tell you we spent the weekend in “sunny” California for a wedding and it rained on us. And on our homecoming it was snowing so this morning we are digging out too?

    Reply
  5. TheIdiotSpeaketh

    My wife saw the photo and blurted out… OH MY GOD! Where does she live?….(we were in the 70’s today)…. Smart move giving the kids a day off to shovel… 🙂

    Reply
  6. robinaltman

    Wow! That’s awful! I went to work without a jacket today in an attempt to usher in spring, but froze my butt off. Jacket tomorrow. No snow here, though. Phew!

    Reply
  7. Laura

    Aww, I feel your pain. We didn’t get all our snow back, but not all of it left…and today it’s freezing rain.
    We seriously need to consider going in on a time share in Florida!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

