Five Minutes of Favorites

I’m writing with a timer for 5 minutes on the prompt…

“A Few of My Favorite Things”

START

The silence of night’s end.  Voices sleep, activity fades to memory, and I curl up in bed with a dim light and book.  For a few quiet moments relaxation trumps sleep and I sit in complete peace.

The feel of slipping into a bed with clean white sheets.

Greeting of my first cup of coffee.  I’m not too fond of the second, but the first cup I need.

The feel of my eleven-year old son slipping into my arms for a hug.

I love seeing my daughter mix outlandish outfits topped with an even more silly hat.

The feeling of complete, when my husband slips into bed after a late night of work.

A glass of cold diet coke in the break of a full day.

Listening to the break of waves on the beach, the chatter of gulls, and calmness of ocean.

The feeling of sunshine on my face, burning through the layers of me.

I love…

FINISH

So here’s what I realized.  I love my bed, my family, and the summer.  Not necessarily in that order!

Today I’m writing along with The Gypsy Mama.

Rules are:

1. Write for only five minutes. Don’t edit. Don’t over think. Don’t stifle your creativity.
2. Link back here and invite others to join in.
3. Go leave some comment love for the five minuter
who linked up before you.

That’s it!  Need something to write about today?  Write about a few of the things you love.  Go visit the Gypsy Mama and link up!

How about you?  What are a few of your favorite things?

15 thoughts on “Five Minutes of Favorites

  1. Chrissy

    I pretty much agree with all your favorites. I don’t have any kids, so those don’t apply, but I love the time with the book, I love a good cup of coffee, just in general, and clean sheets…I love that feeling too. So, yeah, pretty right on list there.

    Reply
  2. Sara

    That’s awesome! I love freshly washed sheets, (perhaps I should do it more often!) but ours are deep red. I, too, would have to add chocolate to the list and I prefer the early morning quiet to late night.

    Reply
  3. Mikki

    What a great post!! I love my first cup of coffee too :-). I love it when my 17 and 19 year olds let me hug them tight.
    Have a great weekend.

    Reply
  4. thefarmerfiles

    I love the beach and the ocean, too.. I have spent almost all of my life near the ocean. When we lived in Hawaii I totally missed out on Kona coffee because I am not a coffee drinker. ;( I drink Diet Coke particularly in the morning, and at different times of the day. Your pole dancing for Jesus caught my eye up there. I agree. I have a story about the day pole dancers became a part of our small group a few years ago. wooo—-wee!!!

    Reply
  5. caprik

    A Cup of Chai.
    A cat on my lap.
    A good laugh with Honey.
    A snuggle with almost grown children.
    A really good book.
    The satisfaction of a job well done.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

