If you met me…

 

Playing Spoons, the funniest game ever

START:

If you met me, you might not like me.

That’s just truth.  Not everyone can like me.

If you met me, you’d notice that I’m more of a laid back, hands off type of parent.  I don’t feel the need to take part in every one of my child’s activities.  They can play and entertain themselves.  I’m not a helicopter parent.  I don’t like to hover.

If you met me, you’d learn that I’m a social person.  I like to do things with other people as opposed to doing them alone.  Everything is more fun when you have group participation.

If you met me…Hmmm…I’m not sure what you’d think of me.  Lately I’ve wondered what kind of image I’m portraying.  What do people think of me before they really get to know me?  If judged by my cover, what kind of book am I?

I don’t have answers for these questions, but I wonder.  Maybe I should anonymously survey my friends and acquaintances.  Maybe I should have someone video-tape me without my knowing.

Maybe I shouldn’t care.  I’m not sure.

STOP:

Today I’m writing along with The Gypsy Mama.

Rules are:

1. Write for only five minutes. Don’t edit. Don’t over think. Don’t stifle your creativity.
2. Link back here and invite others to join in.
3. Go leave some comment love for the five minuter
who linked up before you.

That’s it!  Need something to write about today?  Use the prompt, If you met me.  Go visit the Gypsy Mama and link up!

36 thoughts on “If you met me…

  1. accidentalsouthernmama

    If you met me you would know that I struggle NOT to be a helicopter parent. It is an everyday struggle for me, but I am getting there. The first step in overcoming a problem is first admitting you have one.

    Reply
  2. Sharon @ Hiking Toward Home

    NOT a helicopter parent either. 🙂 enjoyed reading about you today. I often wish I could step outside of myself and see me how others see me, cause it always seems to be very different from my own opinion of myself.

    Reply
  3. DJ

    If someone meets you and they don’t like you, it’s their loss.
    (So maybe your kids are holy terrors; so what? 🙂

    Reply
  4. Bobbi

    Eeek…well, I’m probably what you’re calling a helicopter parent…I just don’t want my kids running wild for other people to correct. It’s interesting…all these posts…maybe we shouldn’t care…but we do…oh, we do!

    Reply
  5. Jill

    If I met you I’d feel like we’d known each other for a long time because of blogging back and forth. I’d think our parenting styles were very similar, and I think we’d laugh a lot the whole time we were together. Oh! And I’d bring M&M’s. : )

    And we’d meet at my place because it’s warmer. : )

    Reply
  6. bridgesburning

    If I met you I would already love you..knowing your humor, your angst and your brilliance with the written word! Oh and I was never a helicopter thingy either and they turned out to be amazing men and good friends!

    Reply
  7. Jeff Silvey

    Nice to meet you. We’re pretty much opposites. I am a helicopter parent. Of course, my daughter is only 3 now, so she needs a little protecting at times. I’m not so social, not in person. But I like to think that I’m nice in the real world. Different strokes. Every kid is different, and so are most parents. Everybody has a style all their own. Good post.

    Reply
    1. the domestic fringe Post author

      Nice to meet you Jeff. I’m sure you are nice in the real world. Why, you even seem nice in blog world! Somebodies gotta be the helicopter…we all have our place in this world.

      Reply
  8. MissCaron

    I like you! Even though we haven’t met in person I think I would still like you. Also, I LOVE that you’re not a helicopter parent! As a worker in Student Services at a University I see first hand the damage done by helicopter parenting. So sad. Thanks for being you!

    Reply
  9. Christie

    So nice to “meet” you too! I’m not a helicopter parent either. Sometimes I worry that other helicopter moms might perceive that as being a “bad mom”. But I’m learning to be ok with what people think — just because they think it doesn’t mean it’s true. Good to know I’m not alone.

    Oh and I do pride myself on the fact that I am a fast typer. And the fast thinking part? You have no idea. My brain never stops. 🙂

    Reply
    1. the domestic fringe Post author

      My first reaction is to say “my brain never starts,” but it wouldn’t be true. My brain just needs a little time to start up…kinda like warming up a car. Nice to meet you too Christie! Thanks for visiting.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

