Sleeping Under the Stars

This weekend I learned my love for my family is limited.

It’s a terrible realization.

I would jump in front of a tractor-trailer to save my son, but I would not camp out on my lawn with him.

I just see no good reason to sleep on the hard ground when I have a nice soft bed twenty steps away.  Not to mention sixty degree afternoon temperatures do not mean warm nights.  In fact, we are still waking to thick frost.

Frost like in ICE.

Ya.  I’m not sleeping outside.

But I birthed a boy scout and married a wild outdoors man.  So FringeMan and the children attempted the great spring sleep under the stars.

Dressed in warm pajamas and winter coats, they nestled down in their sleeping bags.  By one forty-five in the morning, I heard the front door open and slam shut.  I lifted my head and squinted blurry eyes just as my daughter plodded up the steps.  Before opening her door, she turned and saw me semi-awake.

“It’s just too cold.”  She said.

I knowingly shook my head.  It was the reason I stayed indoors.

Minutes later the door opened and slammed shut as the men abandoned their camp.  I won’t say I told you so, but….

12 thoughts on “Sleeping Under the Stars

  1. Jill

    There’s a reason for the phrase “keep the home fires burning”. It’s because someone has to be sane enough to stay inside when it’s freezing out. Except that I thought your house was freezing inside anyway, so other than not having beds outside, I’m not sure what the difference was. : )

    Reply
  2. marytoo

    I don’t really have an appropriate comment here, other than I understand completely.

    What I really wanted to say is that… YAY!!!! I CAN COMMENT!!!! For a l-o-n-g time my computer or something has been on some kind of boycott. It just would NOT allow me to comment on any of your posts. (Well, the thought croxxed my mind that maybe you {gently, of course… :-P} boycotted me.

    Reply
    1. the domestic fringe Post author

      lol! I certainly did NOT boycott you. Glad you can comment again. I don’t know what happens in blog land, but sometimes blogger does not allow me to comment either. Doesn’t matter how many times I try, I am silenced. These programs are as prickly as a garden of cacti!

      Reply
  3. Thypolar

    That’s adorable. I’ve been there and done that. I love to camp though and in our last camping trip to Mt Charleston we tried out our new tent. The tent had a removable screen top so you can lay under the stars at night. They forgot to mention on the box and in the instructions that you should put the top back on if you don’t want to freeze to death. LOL.

    Oh well, lesson learned!

    Reply
  4. Laura

    Ha ha, I don’t blame you.
    And, you know what they say “Mother knows best”
    Make s’mores in your kitchen instead! That’s the best part of camping anyway.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

