He Shot an Elephant in My Living Room

Today this child of mine attached a pin to a dart and shot an elephant with his blow gun.  As he brought me over to show me his kill, he said, “Now I just have to figure out how I can put some sleep poison on the dart.”

I have a feeling this is going to be a long summer.

How do you plan on keeping your kids busy this summer?  I’m sending mine to a week of History Camp, AKA – Nerd Camp.  My daughter is also playing Tennis three mornings a week for three weeks.  Other than that, it’s me, the kids, and homemade dart guns.  Hopefully there won’t be too many elephants running wild in my neighborhood.

9 thoughts on “He Shot an Elephant in My Living Room

  1. caprik

    I am down to one unoccupied child this summer. By the time she works at VBS, goes to camp for a week, and reorganizes her bedroom, it should be time for her to head back to school! I have a feeling she will want to redecorate it too.

    Reply
  2. omega57

    I love the imagination of little guys! Mine will have DEAR time, do some cooking we don’t have time for during the school year, tennis lessons, swim, swim, swim, trips to the local pottery and bead / jewlery making place and time to dream.

    Reply
  3. chrissy

    You guys are crazy, you know that right? I bought a purse from Downtown Disney, with all the Disney characters in nerd gear…glasses, braces, all that…it says “I Love Nerds” and “Nerds Rock” all over it. And they speak the truth. Don’t be knockin’ nerd camp :o)

    Reply
  4. momfog

    Thank goodness my church has a kid’s summer program two days a week. Those 6 hours each week are my only break!

    I love the creative minds of children.

    “Think left and think right and think low and think high. Oh, the things you can think up if only you try!” ~Dr. Seuss

    Reply
  5. Judy Brodie

    I really enjoy reading your blog even though I don’t know you 🙂 I completely understand your past comments on your weather. I was born in upstate NY…the winters were long and just plain awful. We live in VA and I love it 🙂 Have a great day!!

    Reply
  6. bridgesburning

    Hey isn’t it nice to know that if you are ever on safari and there is a herd of stampeding elephants your son will save your life??. I think that child is pretty cool but I would hide all poisons he might adhere to the darts!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

