Outside My Comfort Zone – WIWW

Today I’m stepping out of my comfort zone and I’m participating in Pleated Poppy’s What I Wore Wednesday.   Each week during the winter, I would hop over to The Pleated Poppy and visit several linked blogs.  As I sat in my jeans and layers of t-shirts and sweaters, I’d be inspired by the woman brave enough to get dressed, take a picture, and post it for all the world to see.

I didn’t see it as an egocentric thing to do; I saw it as inspiring.

For me What I Wore Wednesday wasn’t about the nice clothes or cute jewelry, although I did like looking at them, it was more about taking the time to actually get dressed and look nice.  When you’re a stay-at-home mom or work-at-home woman, it’s easy to be lazy.  Let’s face it, yoga pants and t-shirts are pretty dang comfy.  Before you know it, we’re not wearing makeup (why bother when you’re just going to wash it off), we don’t fix our hair (aren’t pony-tails always in style?), and we look like bums.  God forbid the UPS man knocks on the door!  We’re not prepared to face the world, let alone the pizza man.

I kept thinking that one day I’d participate in WIWW.  I didn’t do it in the winter, because I wear jeans and sweaters in the winter, and I have about four sweaters on rotation.  I’d have to show you the same outfit twice in one week.  While I wash between wears, I was afraid you’d think I stink.  Now it’s summer and summer clothes are easy.

Here goes…and yes I did crop my face out of Thursday’s photos.  I know it’s an Adam’s Family type thing to do, but I always have the dorkiest look on my face.  I don’t like pictures being taken of me.  I’m usually the one with the camera in my hand, you know?

Please keep in mind, I’m no fashionista.

Thursday

Yes, that’s my daughter’s very messy room.  She’s cleaned it since these photos.

Went for a haircut, thrift shopping, and to visit a friend and her kids.

Dress – Ann Taylor Loft clearance about 3-4 years ago.

Denim Capris – Kohl’s

Bracelets – H & M

Wedges – Kmart

Friday

  Ran errands, went to library, out for pizza with the family at night.

Dress – Thrifted, New York & Co.

Belt – Thrifted

Necklace – Local Boutique

Sandals – Thrifted

Hair – Cut 🙂

Saturday

Skirt – Thrifted, New York & Co.

Shirt – Kohl’s

Necklace – Target, a gift from a friend

Bracelet – Yard Sale

We spent the day tagging along with my hubby while he did stuff for work/church.  Nothing too exciting.

For the record, this may be the worst picture ever, but what can I say?  This isn’t Project Runway and you can’t vote me off my own blog. 😉

Sunday

It was Father’s Day and you already know what we did that day.

Skirt – Thrifted

T-Shirt with ribbon flowers (you can’t tell) – Target

Brown Tank – Target

Sandals – Thrifted

Bracelets – Gifts, Necklace – Hand-Me-Down

Monday

Went for allergy shots, grocery shopping, hanging around the house and doing laundry.

Denim Capris – Kohl’s

Tank – H & M

Sweater – Gap Clearance

Necklace – Yard Sale

Tuesday

Walked to the park and library.

Skirt – Thrifted

Pink Tank – Thrifted

White Sweatshirt – Thrifted

Bag – Street Vendor NYC

Flip-Flops – Kmart

So there you have it!  As you can tell, I basically shop thrift stores and clearance racks, but I love doing it.  I love that I bought the dress, two of those skirts, and the red belt all for $5 total.  Sometimes we trick ourselves into thinking it’s ok to wear pj pants to Wal-Mart because maybe we don’t have a lot of money.  I’m taking a stand against pajama pants in public.  Try not to hate me for it.

So what about you?  Would you ever consider linking up to What I Wore Wednesday??

Go visit The Pleated Poppy and check out all the others participating in WIWW.  Be inspired to get dressed!

35 thoughts on “Outside My Comfort Zone – WIWW

  1. Pingback: WIWW – Dork Dressing 101 « the domestic fringe

  2. mzzterry

    Can I just say “what she said” ?!? I agree with your thoughts on getting dressed, it is an effort we need to make or we become slobbish! Love your outfits & love your style. Go Fringegirl!!

    Reply
  3. debbie york

    Have you seen the commercials for “pajama jeans” or is that just something being sold down here in Texas? They are a hoot and for real…’course I hate to be the one to break the news to ’em…but they’re still pajama bottoms no matter what tee is worn with them. If it walks like a duck and quacks like a duck…it’s still pajamas!!
    I seldom find anything in my size when visiting my local thrifts…not that I’m not giving it the ol’ college try!
    Love all your ensembs’…girl …you got style!
    Debbie

    Reply
  4. chasityivy

    I love the khaki dress with the red belt. It looks great on you! Looks like you got some great thrift store finds. so much fun! Thanks for stopping by my blog!

    Reply
  5. Megan

    I’ll stand united with you against pajama pants in public. It’s my pet peeve. Thanks alot for making me feel like a total slob today as I sit wearing tshirt, athletic shorts and a baseball cap (but the outfits were too cute)! 😉

    Reply
  6. Melissa S., SoChick!

    EEP! I LOVE that green skirt! All very cute outfits. 🙂 I keep my winter wardrobe on rotation, too, as I despise winter, and refuse to spend too much money on ‘cute’ winter clothes, haha. Thanks for the comment, following you! 🙂

    Reply
  7. vixter2010

    I like the military look, cute!If I did it, I’d prob discover I wear too much of the same thing 🙂 I’m always staring at my wardobe in the morning hoping for inspiration to strike!

    Reply
  8. Charming's Mama

    I don’t wear pajama pants in public and do take the time to shower and get dressed every day and I look like a peeled onion with my hair pulled back so I also wash and blow dry it every day but I’m pretty sure I won’t be linking up. You look super cute though. What size shoe do you wear? My sister bought me a pair of really cute wedgies, but they are too narrow for my foot, their yours if you want them.

    Reply
    1. the domestic fringe Post author

      Sydney,
      Well, sounds like you do more than enough to link up! I’m not sure I’ll do it again, but hey, you never know. I wear a size 8, always. Thank you for thinking of me with your wedgies. I’m crossing my fingers that they’re my size. 😉
      Have a Happy Wednesday!
      -FringeGirl

      Reply
  9. Tara

    OK, I might actually be able to like WIWW now that you are participating. Most places are like J. Crew, Anthro, etc. This is MUCH more my price range!

    Reply
    1. the domestic fringe Post author

      Tara, I would LOVE to read one of your WIWW posts! I know some of those shops and prices featured can be intimidating, but I think we can do a decent job with ourselves, even on a shoestring budget. 😉 Go take a picture, so you can post next week!
      -FringeGirl

      Reply
  10. Ashlea

    Thanks for the blog comment! It’s so much fun seeing everyone’s creativity and individuality in their clothing! I really like your Thursday look, but I LOVE Friday! That belt and necklace just pop with the dress. Love, love, love it!

    Reply
  11. Eva

    You have some awesome looks going on! That bright skirt is fabulous and I love the jean capris under the dress. Nice job!

    Reply
    1. the domestic fringe Post author

      Thank you Eva! I wasn’t sure about the capris under the dress, but I figured I’d give it a whirl. I actually cut the back pockets off the jeans, so they wouldn’t pouch out. They weren’t my favorite pair anywhoo. 😉

      Reply
  12. Adventures of a Middle Age Mom

    I love the red dress and capris. Cute! And you look terrific in the khaki dress with the red belt. And don’t talk to me about the green skirt. Love it!
    I never had much luck around my area with thrift shopping. I still do it, but I usually find household stuff rather than clothes. Good for you! And you look cute!

    Reply
    1. the domestic fringe Post author

      Thrifting is great for household stuff. Clothing can be a bit more tricky. It’s always hit or miss, but the hits are well worth the time for the misses. 😉 Good luck to you!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

