The Spiders are Stalking Me

I wanted to make this a long and meaningful post, but my ‘to do’ list is growing and some things cannot wait, like my end of the year reports due in my school district’s offices tomorrow.  I did mention I was a procrastinator, didn’t I?

I rather like to think I work well under pressure.

My son declared his desire to become a Montrologist.

Monstrologist:  A person who studies monsters.

At eleven, I guess that’s better than saying he wants to become a gynecologist.  He could become an arachnologist and he wouldn’t even have to leave home.  Over the past week, we’ve had some the largest spiders I have ever seen come out for a visit.  I’m assuming they live in our basement, because they don’t come out until nighttime when everything is peaceful and mostly dark.  I’m getting a little freaked out.  Remember I grew up watching the Brady Bunch, and we all remember when Greg woke up to a tarantula on his chest.  It is my worst nightmare.  Well, one of them.  My imagination tends to overreact.

So since this is Thankful Thursday, I’ll just jot down a sampling of my list without the fancy and fanfare.  I’m linking to Thankful Thursday at Grace Alone.

  • a surprise gift in the mail
  • a battery handed to me by a complete stranger when my camera died in the middle of a parade, before my children marched
  • laughter
  • looking at Cake Wrecks in the bookstore and making my husband laugh out loud.
  • opportunities God gives me
  • a bag of clothes for $5
  • a walk in the sunshine
  • watching my kids play in the park
  • frozen chocolate milk
  • provisions for today
  • a pen-pal for my daughter
  • remembered verses
  • a chance to share the Gospel
  • plans for summer

Ok, I said this was going to be short, but I must tell you…my daughter has a new pen-pal.  When we went up to Maine last month, she was reacquainted with a little friend.  Now my daughter and her friend are pen-pals, but in a modern, very chic way.  They send emails nearly every night.  And they are funny – all rainbows and silly and young girl.  I love it!  FringeKid writes in literal rainbows, loving that she can change font colors, and there are more silly smiley faces than words.

I love that she’s keeping in touch with friends far away.  It reminds me that I need to send a few more emails just for fun and to say hello.

Do your kids have any pen-pals?  Do you?

Ok, again.  One more thing.  If spell check hadn’t failed, this post would already be published and I’d be done chattering, but looks like I have more to say.

I’m going to attempt to memorize the book of Colossians.  I haven’t memorized anything in a very long time and at first, I wasn’t going to memorize an entire book, howbeit small, of the Bible.  It just keeps bugging me, like I should do it.  I mean, why not?  Can we ever have too much of God’s Word tucked safely in our hearts?

So, I’m doing it.  I won’t make any grand promises of success; however, I will try, and try, and try, and try some more.

That’s really it.  Hopefully spell check works this time.

When was the last time you memorized anything?

14 thoughts on “The Spiders are Stalking Me

  1. TheIdiotSpeaketh

    20 years ago…..wedding vows…..had them memorized to perfection….and then could not remember a single word when the time arrived. Even forgot my own name. 🙂

    Reply
  2. Charming's Mama

    I had a pen pal once but unlike caprik I can’t remember her name, seems like I only got one letter too. Ah well. You got it then, so glad. I was going to link up also but once again I am a day late and lacking the ambition to blog today. And regarding fiction friday don’t give up, I’m sure you will get there.

    Reply
  3. caprik

    A pen pal, what a blast from the past! I can still remember my pen pals name, Eileen McGettigan. We met in a hotel pool at Niagra Falls. We wrote for several years, mostly about what we watched on TV, but it was so exciting to get mail!
    Have fun FringeKid!

    Reply
  4. Cathy

    I’m supposed to be working on Psalm 121, but haven’t gotten to far yet. But I do love that chapter.

    I hate, hate, hate spiders! Just thought you should know.

    Reply
  5. Deb

    Pen pal emails! So cute. My daughter met an old pen pal on Facebook. So neat. Good on you for memorizing a whole book from the Bible. We’ll have to skype and you can recite it to me! 🙂 🙂
    Are there a lot of monsters around for your boy to study? 😉

    Reply
  6. DJ

    A whole book???
    Gee, girlfriend! Way to make me feel like a total underachiever! 🙂 I’m doing well to remember one verse at a time.
    I love your gratitude list. I’ll be praising Him with you today.
    Love & Laughter,
    DJ

    Reply

Leave a Reply

