Experience The Thrill of Indoor Camping

I spent many summer nights in my childhood room with sheets spread from corner to corner, a coat stand propped in the center to keep the entire tent from collapsing on my slumbering head.  My kids are carrying on the tent-making tradition.  They spent last night on the floor between chairs and under blankets.  My daughter said she had a very good sleep.  My son said he slept so well he even dreamed.

The only real camping experience I have is making blanket tents in the house.  I’ve not slept under the stars, nor have I gone potty while propped up by a tree.  I haven’t made dinner over a campfire (unless you count the grill in the backyard as a campfire), and I haven’t bathed in a creek.  My husband thinks this city girl needs a good dose of roughing it.  I disagree.

So tell me the truth, am I missing out by not planning the great summer camp of 2011?

6 thoughts on “Experience The Thrill of Indoor Camping

  1. Lee Ann L.

    It depends upon YOU and what you like/dislike.

    I love to camp. Yes, you have to deal with bugs, heat in the summer and cold in the winter, and more; but, those things are minor. Many campgrounds have bathrooms; so, you do not have to go find a place in the woods. So, that is not an valid excuse. I love camping for its many attributes. Viewing nature and seeing it all in its glory. Going hiking. Swimming (summertime). And, we don’t exactly sleep under the stars as we use tents. 🙂

    PS we used to build tents and forts out of blankets as a child — drove my Mother batty. LOL. But, those were good times. 😀

    Reply
  2. Mariza

    I never understood why people would want to play “homeless.” I don’t like sleeping on the ground in a sleeping bag. I never got it. And yet, I’m moving to an RV. Ha! but my RV is going to have a queen size bed, two bathrooms, etc. I’m not roughing it. Oh, no! I’m not that kind of girl.
    Cute tents in your home. I love them!

    Reply
  3. DJ

    Yes. You’re missing out. Go see God’s creation up-close and personal. Look past the irritations and inconveniences to the wonder of our organized, bountiful world. Take a magnifying glass and ziplocs for collections, and when you teach your kids science next year, it will mean something.
    You brought it up; that means you wanna. Go ahead.

    And besides, there will be photos. Not for you. Duh. For us. Your blog readers. I call that a win-win. 🙂

    Reply
  4. Jennifer Jo

    Sounds like it’s not your thing, so no, you’re not missing a thing!

    (All four of my kids slept out under the stars last night and only one came in—in the middle of the night without even bothering to wake us up, yay!)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

