The Post That Never Ends & A Photo Contest

I almost have nothing to say.  I even considered making this post pictures only, but it’s against my nature.  So here’s the basic weekend recap and the Summer Series photo contest.

Saturday night we went to a ballgame, complete with salty/buttery popcorn and bleachers that give bottom aches.

Nothing says America like baseball, except for hot dogs, apple pie, moonshine, hillbilly music, hot rods, drive-ins, and blue jeans.  Ok, and maybe a few more things, but baseball has to be high on the list.

The kids quickly found friends and only came back to see us when they needed popcorn money.

It was almost like a date.

I’ve always heard (mom) that money doesn’t grow on trees, but I’m holding out hope.  I think it will be the only tree I am not allergic to.

There were bounce houses without kids.

I didn’t get to jump.  I suspect I was too heavy.

FringeKid had fun.

FringeMan says I do funny things with my arm when I walk, so he tried to capture my goofiness for posterity’s’ sake.

And since a 4th of July weekend would not be complete without fireworks…

*******************

Now, on to important things like the Summer Series photo contest.  In case you haven’t heard, The Domestic Fringe will be hosting a Summer Series beginning on July 18th.  Awesome bloggers have graciously agreed to be my guests and talk about everything from Summer Art to Summer Food, Summer Faith to Summer Fun, and much more.  I can’t wait!

In an effort to have a little fun, I begged asked you to send me a photo that represented summer.  My inbox was flooded with hundreds a few great photos.  Now I will share them and you will vote for the picture that will represent the Summer Series of 2011.

The winner will be crowned Ms. Fringe and happiness, wealth, and fame will fill your life.

Not really.

But you will be able to tell your grandkids that your photo won a teeny-tiny very prestigious contest in its day.

All photos are linked to the photographer’s website.

Without further ado, here are the photos:

Photo #1

From Jennifer @ Mama's Minutia

Photo #2

Sydney @ The Charming Tyrants

Photo #3

Laura @ Broken Poet

Photo #4

Sydney @ The Charming Tyrants

Photo #5

Laura @ Broken Poet

Photo #6

Sydney @ The Charming Tyrants

Photo #7

Catherine @ Ramble On Cat

Ok, so here’s the deal…VOTE!

Thank you to those who sent several pictures.  I chose a few from each of you.  Appreciate all of you taking the time to send a picture!

*********************************

This post is getting terribly long for a girl with nothing to say.

I did want to give a quick sneak peek at my daughter’s bedroom.  Updates are in progress, but the walls are painted and a few splashes of Krylon’s Watermelon Pink are complete.

We made tissue paper flowers, because the $5 flowers looked cheap and I’m not spending $1o on one fake flower, even if I can’t kill it.  We made this double pink bouquet with a dollar’s worth of tissue paper.

FringeBoy gifted his sister with the unicorn.  Isn’t it darling?

Old brown baskets turned pink.

Books were straightened.

A little more than a year ago, I plucked this sorry table from the trash.  Since it came to live with me it has evolved from a wood tone, to black, to aqua blue, to watermelon pink.  FringeMan told me I should not have painted enamel over latex paint.  He thinks it will “peal like an apple”.  But he figures in another year, FringeKid will be all into hot pink and aqua zebra stripes.  We can only hope.

Personally, I think the paint will be fine.

Her little lamp has a new hat.  Did you notice?

I’ve kept this wire skeleton of a lampshade for far too long and it finally paid off.  With $2.50 of polka-dot fabric, we made a rag shade.

I got the idea from The Pleated Poppy.  Her shade is cuter, but we like ours just the same.

More to come over the next month.

*************************************

And finally…yes, finally.

My kids found some great old keys at a yard sale.  FringeGirl and I strung one on a chain and made a super-cute necklace.

My son has been walking around like this for a few days.  He found this camo vest at a thrift store and thinks…well, I don’t what he thinks, but he obviously loves this look.  Heaven help me!  I do hope he outgrows this stage.

And with that, I’ll say goodbye.

7 thoughts on “The Post That Never Ends & A Photo Contest

  1. Megan

    Man, i’m such a procrastinator. I had a photo in mind to submit, but I never dug through my external hard drive to find it. BTW, Fringegirl’s room is soooo cute!

    Reply
  2. Deb

    Okay, is Laura allowed to submit two pictures??? 😉 I suppose I should have voted for her but that first one makes me swoon. (a la Flowerpatch Farmgirl) Daughter’s room is very cute. 🙂 Maybe you should talk to your son. Just kidding! 😉

    Reply
  3. Laura

    your daughter’s room make-overs are really fun. Oh what can’t spray paint do?!
    I was tempted to vote for one of my own pics, but the hay in the field made me think of summers at my grandparent’s when I was a kid.

    Reply
    1. the domestic fringe Post author

      Tori, they are very easy to make. I just cut down the size of the tissue paper, but I used Martha’s method. Martha Stewart makes those giant paper balls that are so popular everywhere. I did that on a much smaller scale.

      Reply
  4. marytoo

    Wow, so many things to comment on….. but I will restrain myself.

    But good luck with your boy. I have to tell you that my youngest boy used to dress like that. And he never got over it. He’s a firstie at West Point now, barely one year away from being in the Real Army…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

