Fiction Friday, 10th Edition – It’s all I’ve got

I didn’t think this was good enough to show you last week and sadly, I haven’t changed one little word in it all week.  I haven’t even read over it.  So, forgive me for giving you the rough and undone.  It’s all I’ve got.

Chapter 3 continued from week 8…

“One of Mason’s boys gave me the address.  Since you wouldn’t answer your phone, I had to come tell you the news in person, and it wasn’t easy.  The traffic on the Whitestone Bridge cost me nearly two hours and a quarter tank of gas.”

“What news?”  She asked, pulling herself to a sitting position.  The thought of more bad news sent the Chinese food into a tummy tumble.

Taking one of her soft hands in his rough, fire beaten hand, he looked into her eyes.  “They found the murder weapon.”

“Where”

“Mason’s boys went combed the area down by the pond and they found Hirum’s old walking stick.”

She grabbed her stomach, doubling over in pain.  Chinese food would forever mean death to her.

“You ok?”

He took his free hand and rubbed her back with short swirling motions.

“I don’t feel so good.”  She said.  “Why didn’t they find it that day, when Mason went by and found Mimi?”

“I don’t know, really.  Mason said with all the downed limbs from this winter’s snows, the stick just blended in.  They must have missed it.”

Lacy ran a hand through her mousey brown hair.  It caught in the tangles.  “Where would they get the walking stick?  It doesn’t make sense.”

“I know.  That’s what Mason’s boys said, but he thinks somebody was breaking in looking for easy cash and grabbed at whatever they could use for a weapon..  Then they must’ve run into the woods and dropped the stick among the brush.  I’m sure they thought no one would find and it and they were right.  Almost.”

“You drove all the way down here to tell me that?”

“Well, not just that.  Lace, I couldn’t get you off my mind.  I had to come.  You left without even saying goodbye.  Besides, I wanna see New York.  You could show me around.”

“You’re staying?”  Her eyes turned wide as saucers.

“Oh, uh, Tony can have the couch tonight.”  Both Tony and Lacy turned to look at Jane.  They forget she was in the room.

“Ya, the couch is great.  I love couches, especially if you want to stay on it with me.”  Tony winked at Lacy’s shocked face.

Jane’s laughter filled the room.  “Lace, you keep a lot of secrets, but I can’t believe you haven’t told me about this guy.  You better wake up before you lose him.”  Turning a wide smile on Tony, she said, “I’ll show you round New York tomorrow.  I’m sure the school can find a sub for me.”

“That’s it.”  Lacy said getting to her feet.  “Tony, you get the couch.  I have a shoot scheduled tomorrow afternoon, but you can tag along and I’ll show you the city after.”

“You,”  Lacy said turning to Jane, “will go to school tomorrow.  And, I wasn’t hiding Tony from you.  It’s just that up until a few days ago, I hadn’t seen him in ten years.”

“Well, I’m here now and you’ll be seeing a lot of me.”  Tony said.  He spread out  and pulled the couch blanket over him.  “You ladies have short blankets.”  The bottom half of his shins, ankles, and boot clad feet stuck out from the little snowmen on the blue fleece blanket.  “But, I think this will do for tonight.  Lace, you sure you don’t want to join me?”

Lacy rolled her eyes while Jane laughed all the way to her bedroom.

********************************

Welcome to the 10th Edition of Fiction Friday!

So glad you’re here. It is my hope that many of you will join us by linking your fiction post. Please read many of the links and be generous in your comments.

I cannot be responsible for the writing linked.  Fiction Friday is open to anyone and I’m not policing links, just encouraging writers.

Help us share the opportunity by grabbing a Fiction Friday Button and proudly displaying it on your blog. We’d also love a tweet or stumble or facebook share. Some of the most skilled, prolific writers are bloggers, so let’s help each other out. Thank You!

Fiction Friday with The Domestic Fringe
Fiction Friday with The Domestic Fringe

The rules are as follows:

  • Write fiction.
  • Provide a link back to my Fiction Friday post right here on The Domestic Fringe.
  • Add your specific URL to the green Mr. Linky
  • Read other blogger’s fiction and give some comment love.
  • Throw caution to the wind and take a chance.

Remember: Each of the linked works of fiction are original (Including my own!). They are not to be borrowed, copied, or reprinted in any way. Thank you for respecting each author’s original writing.

Now it’s your turn.  Link up your fiction and we’ll come read!

6 thoughts on “Fiction Friday, 10th Edition – It’s all I’ve got

  1. Bridgesburning Chris King

    Hi Tricia,
    I wrote out part of the Caleb Adventure Book for this week. Hope it linked okay. I never did figure out how to convert the original which is just as well as there were a lot of pics of course being a children’s story. The Adventure will be completed next week!
    Chris

    Reply
  2. Lisa (Woman Wielding Words)

    Oh by the way, I accidentally linked before I was ready so the second link is the good one.

    Reply
  3. Lisa (Woman Wielding Words)

    I am way behind on my reading and need to catch up, so I’m sorry I haven’t been commenting. I love this little section which reveals so much character detail through dialogue. Love the line about chinese food forever meaning death.

    I am not ready to share any more of my novel (since I hope to get the publishing done soon). I thought I would contribute an old piece I wrote for a short story writing class a few years ago. It’s a little dark, but enjoy.

    Reply
  4. Tori Nelson

    Lady, this doesn’t seem “rough” to me at all. I like the dialogue a lot. I always hate when conversations between characters sound too much like text and not enough like talk. Their exchanges were completely natural 🙂
    P.S. I WROTE THE FICTION. It nearly killed me, but I did it. Thanks for the encouragement 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

