Refashion 80’s Style, T-Shirt Tutorial

Perhaps this T-shirt refashion stems from my being a child of the 1980’s.  I’m not sure.  I am sure that I will not teach you how to put 100 slashes in the back of your t-shirt, and I will not teach you how to cut your t-shirt so it hangs off one shoulder.  I’m also not wearing my hair in a side-pony, so don’t worry yet.

I am attempting to make one of these charm necklaces with my daughter tonight (Girl’s Night).

Pinterest via flamingotoes.com

Ok, so maybe you should worry.

Old School Charm

I’m totally making a grown-up version of my beloved 80’s plastic charm necklace.

At least it’s an updated version.

Like the t-shirt alteration I am going to attempt to show you today.  Don’t worry.  (Notice how many times I’ve said “don’t worry” already?)  All you need is a pair of scissors and a sewing machine or the ability to sew a straight line.

I can’t hand sew a straight line and my sewing machine is a near-dead that doesn’t do much better; however, I gave it a shot of adrenaline and nursed it along.

Here’s the deal – we all have those unisex t-shirts that you bring home free from work or you get at sporting events.  They are generally boxy and unflattering for women; however, with a quick alteration, you can love your t-shirt.

I recently picked up a bunch of t-shirts for twenty-five cents at a yard sale.  They looked brand new and we always need t-shirts in my house.  There’s plenty of dirty-work to go around.

Last week, I threw on one of the shirts and hated the neck.  I felt like it was choking me and being strangled by a t-shirt is a terrible way to die.  So, I cut the neck off.

Then I cut part of the sleeves off and the finished hem from the bottom.

Stay with me here.

I was left with a pile like this.

While I had my scissors out, I decided to take in the sides and make it fit more like a t-shirt purchased in the women’s section of a store.

My medium yard-sale shirt is on the left and my well-worn Kohl’s t-shirt is on the right.

I should have made my bed before I photographed this refashion, but I was in a hurry.  Sorry.

I simply laid my good shirt over the generic shirt.  See how the Kohl’s tee is curved on the sides?

I pinned it along the outer edge to give me a line to sew on.

This isn’t an exact science, so estimate.

Or measure if it makes you feel better.

I would rather throw the shirt in the trash than measure, but that’s just me.

You can cut the shirt as narrow as you’d like.  I don’t like to look shrink-wrapped, so I didn’t go too narrow.

Please excuse my ironing board cover.  It’s very old and stained.

Make sure your shirt is inside-out.  Sew along your pinned line.  My line isn’t even straight, but no worries.  Then cut off the excess edge.

Now I should have taken a before and after in the same shirt, but I didn’t think of it until too late.  You get the idea though.  These are basically the same shirt.

I know this idea isn’t revolutionary.  People alter clothes all the time, especially t-shirts, but I thought I would share.

What do you think?

Is it better??

Would you try this yourself???

And incase you think I don’t have a face…

I’ll never figure out how to take a good picture in the mirror. I don’t know how you bloggers do it!

15 thoughts on “Refashion 80’s Style, T-Shirt Tutorial

  1. momfog

    I had completely forgotten about charm necklaces! Very stylin’.

    I love the Tshirt! I hate those necks, too. I prefer v-necks. BTW, did you hem around the neck after you cut it off or what?

    Reply
  2. Leah

    Wow, I just found my very old 1980s plastic charm necklace the other day! Brings back memories! There were so many charms I have no idea if I even wore it; would’ve been way too heavy.

    Reply
  3. heartlandfarmhouse

    I’m Impressed! My Mom did things like that all the time when I was a kid. Me? Not so much!

    Rebecca

    PS~ My daughter plays with my charm necklace from the second picture all the time! 🙂

    Reply
  4. Teri

    Aha! Is that how it is done? I like it. You know, I made my husband make a late night Target run about three years ago because I NEEDED a sewing machine. I was going to CREATE. Well, it’s still in the sealed box in the closet. You may inspire me to open it…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

