Fly Creek Cider & Wacky Nurse Jackie

I heard a rumor that once upon a time, I was a blogger.  I actually shared my life in print on the world-wide web.  People laughed and left comments.  I made friends from far and away.  I shared words and thoughts and heart.

That seems like a long time ago.

Maybe I’m just sleepy or unmotivated.  Maybe I need a kick in the pants.  All I know is that I’m suffering from a severe case of blogger’s block.  I’ve been neglecting my baby blog and she’s withering and dying.

I’m sure all she needs is cup of caffeinated coffee.

Too bad that’s a no-no.

So, how about I share my weekend?  Then you share yours.  Deal?

Good friends from Maine came for a visit – Wacky Nurse Jackie and her family.  We became friends a long time ago when I was pregnant with FringeBoy.  Wacky Nurse Jackie is a baby whisperer.  She can take a beast of a screaming baby, face puffy red with newborn angst, and turn that child into the precious sleeping doll you always thought you’d birth.  I may not have survived my son’s first year of sleepless life without her.

On the trip down, Wacky Nurse Jackie’s husband asked what I was cooking for dinner.  She said, “I don’t know what she’s making, but you can bet she’ll have a good desert.”

That, my friends, is someone who knows me well.

Dinner is sometimes like playing a game of Russian Roulette, but hang on to your appetite, because desert is coming.

I’ll share my banana pudding recipe tomorrow.

On Sunday afternoon we went over to the Fly Creek Cider Mill.  Fly Creek makes the best apple cider in the entire world.  And, FringeMan won us two half gallons by naming the artist who sang the songs our entertainer was playing on his guitar.

Mom you’re right; Elvis isn’t dead!  We saw him and he sang Love Me Tender.  I could tell he was thinking of you while he sang.

Fly Creek turned a little country store into an event.  It’s the greatest way to market a shop.  You don’t just go buy cider, you eat apples, sample cave-aged cheese, watch them press cider, listen to music, eat lunch – it’s a full day.  You can even feed the ducks!

This guy right here – he’s the apple of my eye.  I brought his funny face home.

Our friends made it home safely.  Unfortunately they arrived home in Maine in the middle of the night.  I knew we should have kicked them out earlier, but we were laughing too much to let them go.

And that’s how I spent my weekend…now it’s your turn.  What did you do?

10 thoughts on “Fly Creek Cider & Wacky Nurse Jackie

  1. Mom

    Sounds like a fun weekend with beloved friends!
    Yes, Elvis did sing Love me Tenderly just to me once upon a time (and all the people at Madison Square Garden—but he did not see them, his eyes were right on me!).

    Reply
  2. comingeast

    Nice idea for a post and loved the pictures. Everyone looked so happy, and your hubby looks like the sweetest guy. We had my niece and her husband over for the weekend. Their honeymoon cruise got ruined because of Irene (long story, but the boat sailed without them due to Carnival’s error and they got to stay on St. Thomas during the height of the storm). Anyway, they wanted to come to Aunt Susie’s beach house and have Aunt Susie cook gourmet meals for them, which I did, and they said it was the best part of their honeymoon!

    Reply
  3. Judy Brodie

    Well, yours sounded like alot of fun. We celebrated our youngest grandson’s 11th birthday, he requested steak for his birthday dinner which greatly pleased us! That was Sat. Then Sunday we had some great services at church. Sunday night took a downhill spin as the Lee Tropical storm brought in lots of rain, a threat of a tornado and our power went out this morning, recently coming back on after almost 10 hours of *roughing it* 🙂
    God is good and we can’t complain!

    Reply
  4. Deb

    Sounds like a great weekend to me. I’m all for the dessert. Do you think Wacky Nurse Jackie would be available in a month or so? 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

