Of Mice & Banana Pudding

I stood in the kitchen and watched as the mouse in my house  boarded his wooden trap and set sail through my laundry room.  I waved Bon-Voyage and bid him farewell.  He promised to return and finish off the Ramen Noodles.

If our laundry room, basement, and garage did not flood this week, I feel confident the vermin making themselves at home in my house would be dead.  I just couldn’t stop the rain and flood waters long enough to catch the long-tailed pest.

I am so very thankful the sun is shining.  We have a half-dozen box fans running at full speed and we’re the fortunate ones.  Half of New York is swirling under four feet of water.  So many lost so much.  I really cannot complain.  I’m just praying for dry weather in the Northeast and rain for Texas and other areas of the Southwest who need water so desperately.

I must be getting old.  My posts are suddenly like weather reports.  When I begin regaling you with tales of  my ingrown toenails, send me to a nursing home.  Pronto!

Today is Friday, blessed Friday.  We survived our first week of school.  I’d like to say we conquered it, but that’s a stretch of even my imagination.  Did you know it’s possible to forget all your multiplication tables in eight weeks?  An entire year of quizzing, flashcards, and study gone in eight weeks.  Unbelievable.  Surely they’ll be easier to learn the second time around.

Please tell me that’s true.

Even if you must lie to me.

Tomorrow morning we’re going to New Hampshire for the weekend.  FringeMan is preaching in a church up there on Sunday.  It will be a quick trip, too quick.  I already told FringeMan that I want to stop at the Children’s Place outlet in Kittery, Maine on Monday morning before we drive home.  FringeKid needs clothes and they often have smashing deals.  Plus, I have a coupon.

I wish we could stay longer, but FringeMan must work and our kids must go to school.  Couldn’t we just be on vacation forever?

Here’s the Banana Pudding recipe I forget to share.  It was very good.  FringeMan felt the love when spooned this concoction into his mouth.

Banana Pudding

I box Banana Cream Pudding

Milk (however much the box of pudding says)

2 cups Heavy Whipping Cream

3 or 4  ripe Bananas

Box of Vanilla Wafers

Vanilla Extract

1 can Sweetened Condensed Milk

Make your pudding according to the directions on the box and add the can of sweetened condensed milk.  Mix well and refrigerate.

Whip the heavy cream and one teaspoon of vanilla extract in your mixer until it develops peaks (becomes whipped cream).

When the pudding is almost set, fold the whipped cream into the pudding.  Line a 9×13 pan or pretty glass bowl with Vanilla Wafers.  Pour half the pudding/cream mixture over the wafers and then line with cut up bananas.  Add another layer of wafers and repeat.  Leave the layer of bananas off the top unless you are eating it right away.  Bananas turn brown pretty fast.  You can dip the slices in lemon juice and they’ll keep longer, but I didn’t want to mess with a good thing.

Happy weekend to you!

What are you doing this weekend?

13 thoughts on “Of Mice & Banana Pudding

  1. David

    Are you familiar with bucket traps for mice? What you do is take a 5 gallon bucket and drill a couple of holes near the top on opposite sides. Cut a small diameter wooden dowel to length so that it can span between the holes. Then take something cylindrical like a coke can and make holes centered in both ends. Put the dowel through the coke can and into the holes on either side of the bucket. The coke can should spin freely on the wood dowel. Now, either make a “ramp” to the edge of the bucket or drill another hole and suspend a rope from the side. As long as the mouse can reach the edge of the bucket and get out onto the dowel, you’re set. Smear some peanut butter on the coke can and add a little water to the bottom of the bucket. The mouse will smell the water and the peanut butter. Eventually he’ll venture out on the coke can and it will spin and drop him in the bucket where he can’t get out. Some people put enough water to drown the mouse, but that’s up to you. The nice thing is you can catch many mice at the same time.

    Sorry about the flooding!

    Reply
    1. marytoo

      The bad thing is you have to have an endless supply of 5-gallon buckets, because who is going to empty that!!!! Either that, or the really nasty thing is that you’re going to have to empty the bucket. AAGGGHHH!!!!

      Reply
  2. momfog

    Love banana pudding! I’m glad school went well and sorry about the flooding. I’m sure those multiplication tables will come back quick as a wink. 😉

    BTW, I love the picture. Big fan of Speedy Gonzales.

    Reply
  3. marytoo

    The weather is just so *present*. It’s there every single day, and it has to be considered, every move you make. Like a colicky baby, it never leaves you alone.

    Reply
  4. Laura

    oh my goodness, I’m sorry about the flooding! I was given my Grandmother’s diary and no joke, she wrote about the weather almost every day, lol. But, I loved the opportunity to read it, and I love reading your blog too!
    Enjoy the road trip. God Bless!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

