Happy in Health – Day #3, 31 Days of Happy

It’s easy to be happy when we are healthy, when we feel like we can conquer any battle no matter the size; however, it’s difficult to be happy when we’re sick.  So many people we know and love are living with long-term illnesses, fighting cancer, and feeling terrible.

We need to find a way to help them be happy.

Proverbs 15:13

A merry heart maketh a cheerful countenance: but by sorrow of the heart the spirit is broken.

Proverbs 17:22

A merry heart doeth good like a medicine: but a broken spirit drieth the bones.

My uncle was recently diagnosed with stage 4 throat and tongue cancer.  He’s facing so many challenges, including chemo, radiation, and a feeding tube.  It’s hard to be happy when you get that kind of news from the doctor.  It’s hard to find something to laugh at when you feel sick and tired.

So when I came across this photo, I knew I had to send it to him.

via Pinterest by gizmofusion.com

You have to understand, my uncle’s one addiction (besides donuts) is coffee.  I’m not certain he can get coffee in a feeding tube, but I bet it’s worth asking.

He had a good laugh even in the unhappiest of circumstances.  We can help other people by giving them a moment of happy, of laughter.  It helps, even if just temporarily.

So here’s your mission – Go find someone who is sick or discouraged and help them find some happy.  Bring a smile to their face.  It’s good like a medicine.

31 Days of Happy - Every Day in October

PS.  My uncle’s name is Wayne the Pain.  He needs your prayers.  I do hope you’ll remember him when you talk to God.  And don’t worry, God knows him by that name.  😉

13 thoughts on “Happy in Health – Day #3, 31 Days of Happy

  1. Pingback: 12 Reasons I Love My Boy « the domestic fringe

  2. Pingback: Hoping on a Monday « the domestic fringe

  3. Pingback: Listing My Life on Sunday « the domestic fringe

  4. Redhouse Ranch

    Uncle Wayne needs a Pray Until Something Happens cross. Message me his addy and I’ll send him a little surprise! I love your 31 Day blog topic… Happy. Perfect! I’m writing about 31 Things You Should Know {kind~of letters to my daughters}. Nice to meet you!

    Reply
  5. TheIdiotSpeaketh

    I’ve put in my two cents with the big guy on behalf of Wayne…. Hope you have a great October! 🙂

    Reply
  6. Mindy

    I have been needing laughs. This happy thing you have going is good for my soul. I haven’t read blogs in ages. This one, I plan to read daily this entire month. Thank you for you. Uncle Wayne will be in my prayers. ~Mindy

    Reply
  7. Cathy

    I love praying to God for Wayne the Pain. It made me smile and I’m sure it’s making God smile too!

    Oh and your picture above of the saying from Voltaire. I pinned it! That’s really good and I want to remember it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

