Wear Your Happy, Part #5 – 31 Days of Happy

Pinterest, via pinmarklet

The other day I ran into a woman who I know suffers from medical conditions, including depression.  I greeted her with a hug and asked, “How are you today?”

I didn’t expect the generic “Fine.  And how are you?” response; however, she surprised me by saying, “I’m good.  It’s a good day today.”

I looked into her eyes and said, “Well, where’s your smile?”

Her hands automatically flew to her cheeks.  “Oh, I sometimes forget that I can smile.”

Pinterest, via pinmarklet

Every morning we get up and put on our deodorant, lotions, perfumes, undergarments, work clothes, play clothes, dress clothes, and maybe a hat.  Do we forget to put on our smile?

Pinterest, via weheartit.com

If you’re happy inside, let it show on the outside!

10 thoughts on “Wear Your Happy, Part #5 – 31 Days of Happy

  1. melanie

    YES!!! Love this! One time when I went to the doctor, the nurse recognized me, and said “I remember your big smile”. I was honestly SHOCKED, but it was a great reminder to always try to smile. Someone is watching! 🙂

    I blog at “Only a Breath” and would love for you to stop by if you have time! I’m writing about “31 Days to Love Your Neighbor”. It has been a very interesting journey to say the least! 🙂

    Have a great day!
    Melanie

    Reply
  2. laura

    oh! I just remembered this. Did you ever watch Ally McBeal on tv? There was a character whose therapist told him to smile when he was stressed/upset and the physical act alone would make him feel better…it made for some really funny moments and great fake smiles on the show

    Reply
  3. laura

    this made me smile.
    It’s funny, but my (and most people’s) ‘resting face’ is somewhat negative looking. I try to remember to always keep a smile on my lips and in my eyes. Thanks for the reminder!

    Reply
  4. Colline

    Smiling is such an important part of our day: it makes it more positive.
    I love the little notice giving away smiles – what a great idea 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

