Listing My Life on Sunday

1.  The time change really through me a bit out of wack.  It’s probably because I haven’t figured out how to resent my alarm clock, but my internal time system went haywire about twelve hours ago.  I just hugged my son and told him, “You really need to get to bed.”  He looked at me like I finally lost my mind.  It was only 8:15.  I could swear it had to be at least 10:30.  I think I’m just tired and wishing it was late enough for me to crawl into bed.

2.  I finally made a good tasting meatloaf.  It only took me two-hundred tries.  I used this recipe, but omitted the tomato sauce (to please FringeMan) and added sautéed onions and a handful of other seasonings.  For the first time, I think I really like meatloaf.

3.  Saturday night, my family and I attended a student run concert at a local community college.  One of the young men who was performing asked me if I took classes there.  My husband nearly choked to death on his spit.  Yes, honey, I am MUCH younger than you!  (despite the gray hair that stands straight up in the middle of my forehead)  I just wish the moment was recorded so I could play it over and over again.

4.  I have to somehow assist my children in making a Long House, a diorama, and two pine-wood derby cars before next week.  God bless glue guns and glitter.  I hope their teachers are grading on a curve.

5.  NaNoWriMo was going well until the weekend hit.  No school generally means No-Writy.  I’m worried because they have Friday off and two half-days next week for parent-teacher conferences.  I’m on a schedule here – 50,000 words by the end of the month!  I need school every single day in November!!!  Currently I’m at 11,473 words.  Good, but not good enough to stop the queasy feeling in my tummy.

6.  A dear man and friend of ours passed away today.  He’s been sick for a long time and in the hospital since early September.  They had no idea what was making him so ill, but they recently diagnosed a very rare disease and transported him to a hospital in Cleveland.  About a week ago, doctors realized this disease was caused by lymphoma.  He died this morning.  It was not expected so soon, but he was in terrible pain and now is in Heaven.  If you think of it, please remember his family in your prayers.  Death has a way of immediately ordering your priorities and reminding you of what is important.

7.  I watched the first episode of Sister Wives on Netflix the other day.  Don’t ask me why.  It was probably morbid curiosity.  Honestly I just cannot imagine sharing my husband with other women and being happy about it.  FringeMan says he couldn’t handle more than one woman.  Besides, he says being married to me is like having twenty-six wives because of all my different personalities.  I think I should be insulted, but I’m not.  So I figure the women in polygamist marriages meet each others emotional needs and the man simply meets the sexual needs.  I could be wrong, but that’s the only way I figure it could work, or else that man better be superman.  I think they’re crazy.

8.  My family made four shoeboxes for Operation Christmas Child today.  It’s such a wonderful program and it’s perfect for kids to get involved in.  My kids look forward to it all year.  My son told us that he wants to go help deliver the shoe boxes one day.  Do you participate?

9.  My uncle, Wayne the pain with throat cancer, keeps texting me pictures of snowstorms and telling me they’re coming.  I choose to ignore him.  I like living in warm, sunny denial.

10.  My kids are going through the papers and clipping coupons for toys they want for Christmas.  I think it’s kind of funny, but I’m also glad they’re getting me coupons.  What happened to days when all they wanted was a jump rope?  I have a little holiday confession, I had YouTube open the other day and before I knew what was happening, Christmas songs were blasting through my kitchen and I was singing along.  Yes, it’s too early.  I agree, but I just couldn’t help myself.

What went down at your place this weekend?  Feel free to write a list in the comments.

6 thoughts on “Listing My Life on Sunday

  1. momfog

    Operation Christmas Child is so great. We do it every year and I help wrap the boxes.

    My weekend was cleaning, driving the kids to birthday parties, and lots of writing. I had a really good writing weekend, though my word count could’ve been better. I must try to stop editing as I go along. There’s plenty of time for that after I get my 50,000 words and November is over. Being a perfectionist is annoying sometimes.

    Reply
  2. Deb

    Sister Wives freaks me out too. I watch it out of morbid curiosity as well. It’s funny because on one episode all the teenage girls in the family except for one said they wouldn’t live this way when they are adults! Jealousy is all I see going on with those wives.
    I see no reason why that young student wouldn’t think you were a student too!

    Happy writing! 🙂 🙂

    Reply
  3. ladyofthemanse

    We had better leave Saturday with the comment that I had a migraine, and jet-lag. Those two things are a bad combination.

    I’ve been getting up at 5 am since we got back from Scotland. While I like mornings, I don’t like them this early.

    So my weekend consisted of life between 5 am and 8 pm.

    Reply
  4. Leah

    I had a very nice relaxing weekend, which was the plan. Reading. Blogging. Writing. Birthday dinner tonight. Massage. I’d say, successful weekend!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

