Coffee Trails & Other Percolations

This is the kind of morning that drips a coffee trail behind me.

christmas tree

I woke up and went right to the Christmas tree and plugged it in.  Everyone knows a lit tree is the perfect start to a day, especially after a night when I didn’t sleep very well.   Or maybe I did.  Maybe it was just a dream that I didn’t sleep very well.  I’ve never thought of that, but now I am.

Hang on, I need to refill that coffee cup.

Ok, I’m back.  I decided it wasn’t a dream.  It was real life.  I’m sure as I’m sure Santa will bring me all the things I’ve *hearted* on Etsy.

So tell me, do you guys have it all together in the Christmas shopping department?  Do you start picking out perfect gifts in July and announce in your facebook status update that you are officially ‘Finished Christmas Shopping – WooHoo” by Halloween?

I’m not really like that.  I’m kinda/sorta the girl who wanders through the mall on Christmas Eve knowing she has about thirty-two minutes to find perfect, well thought, loving, preferably handmade presents.

I work well under pressure.

I don’t wrap well.

Once I had a job that forced me to (very occasionally) gift-wrap an item for a customer.  These people paid for gift-wrapping and got me.  I felt so terrible for them, but I won’t bore you with my job-related failures right now; however, speaking of jobs…

Recently my library was looking for a librarian, the person to oversee the entire library, work with the board of directors, and run things.  It was a full-time job and I was homeschooling my kids.  I couldn’t apply for it, but I asked if they had any part-time positions, because I could definitely do one of those.  I would love working around books for about fours hours, five days a week.  They said they regretted to tell there were no part-time positions available, but assured me if anyone died or retired, they would give me a call.  No one has died or retired.

For the record, I do not wish death or even retirement on any of the nice library people.

The other evening while I was killing time at the library with my kids, a couple came in and asked me a question.  Then they said, “You are the librarian, aren’t you?”

What can I say?

“My husband thinks I look like one, but no.  Nobody has died or retired; however, I know exactly where the book is that you’re looking for.”

I know what you’re thinking.  I should drink more coffee before I sit down to blog.  It’s a good idea.  I think I’ll sit on the couch with my coffee and look at Christmas lights. Only I can’t sit on the couch, because I don’t want any spills.  It’s the kind of morning that drips a coffee trail behind me.

How much Christmas shopping have you done?

0% for me, but you already knew that.

Happy Friday!

11 thoughts on “Coffee Trails & Other Percolations

  1. Mom

    “I’m kinda/sorta the girl who wanders through the mall on Christmas Eve…”, Ha! We won’t tell everyone that as soon as I walk in the door on Christmas eve, you are running out the door to do your last minute shopping!!!

    Reply
  2. Jenn

    I have about 7-8 people done (I think), but no “Cheers” please, don’t forget, Scott has 7. I have a long way to go.

    Reply
  3. Laura

    I’m about 50% done….but I have 2 or 3 people that I have NO idea what to buy for them…that makes me feel like I’m at 0%.
    I’m hoping for the Esty Fairy to talk with Santa too!

    Reply
  4. ChristyB

    I love to turn my Christmas tree lights on first thing in the morning, too. Then I sit down in my chair and order my Christmas gifts and wait for them to be delivered to my doorstep. I’m about 75% done with my shopping now.

    Reply
  5. Cathy

    I have the gifts for the children from the giving tree in our town finished…they are boxed up but not wrapped yet. Other than that, I’ve bought one gift. I still have a lot to do. At least you have your tree up. We have a small blue tree up, but that’s about it so far. Hopefully this weekend, that will be accomplished.

    By the way, your tree is very pretty in the pictures.

    Reply
  6. Deb

    I’ve just started shopping really and that freaks me out because I’m usually finished by now. I do try to shop online as much as I can so that is a help. 🙂 You’re lucky people take you for a librarian. I’m always taken for a clerk in a store. 😉

    Reply
  7. Adventures of a Middle Age Mom

    I have two, maybe three gifts purchased. It’s been slow going around my house this year! I have decorated a little, more on that later on my blog. This weekend we’ll put the tree up, though. Maybe that activity will kick my spirit into gear!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

