Sunday’s Injustice & A Moment of Silence

A moment of silence please for the Patriots fans.

************************moment*************************

Superbowl Sunday was a little weird for me, and that’s saying something, because let’s face it, my ‘normal’ is just little off.  If I say it’s weird, it’s weird.

Yesterday morning FringeMan wasn’t preaching anywhere, so we visited a church on recommendation from a lady at the bank.  It’s just one service, right?  Why not go?

I knew something was terribly amiss when I walked through the front doors and a lovely woman with a kind smile, shoved a clip-board into my hands and ordered me to write the names of everyone in my family.  No names = no entry to the auditorium.

I felt a little spooked.

I’m just being honest here.  If your church does the ‘throw a clipboard in the visitor’s face and ask them to sign away the lives of their children’, I’m not judging.  I’m simply saying it made my spidey-senses go on edge.

I’m ok with the visitor card thing.  At least with those, I can take the card back to my seat and decide whether I want to fill out my real name and address or my neighbors.

For the record, I’ve never really done that, but it’s not a bad idea.

Things got a mite stranger from there on out, so let’s just say, I didn’t allow my kids to drink the Kool-Aid.

Enough said.

Let’s move on to the big news of the day – GIANTS WIN THE SUPERBOWL!

Coupled with yesterday’s post, you may get the impression I’m a die-hard football fan.  First impressions can be deceiving.  I didn’t even know who was playing in the Superbowl until Saturday night.  In all reality, the only thing I find remotely attractive about Superbowl Sunday is the snacks.  I know, LOSER.

Yup.  That’s me.

L*O*S*E*R

Hang on, it totally gets worse.  By the end of this post, you’ll be shaking your heads and clicking “unsubscribe”.

I’m sure I mentioned we don’t have cable anymore.  We axed that about two years ago.  Television was sacrificed on the altar of saving money.  Did we save money, you ask?  Our lights are still on and we have heat.  Something must be working.

When the way we watched television changed a few years ago, we were promised an easy switchover.  Public television will live on, they said.  You only need a little box to bring reception to your screen, or a digital antennae for modern TV’s.

This may work for millions of Americans, but it does not work for the FringeFamily.  Last night we had the choice to watch a blank screen or use the laptop.  We set the laptop up in front of the TV and watched it stream.  All was good, except that I couldn’t see the tiny score at the bottom of the screen, even with my glasses, so I had to keep asking FringeMan the score.

I fell asleep.  Twice.  Then I got up and ate some garbage.  In desperate times tortilla chips with melted cheese do the job, probably not better than an energy drink, but I used what I had.

I did not go to bed until I heard my neighbor scream shouts of joy.

Now we all know the best part of the Superbowl is the commercials.  Guess what!  You don’t get to see the commercials when you stream the game.  I will Google them if I have the energy, but I’m warning you, it may require some more chips and cheese.

I also missed the half-time show.

I heard Madonna sang Material Girl.

Kidding.  I did watch her performance this morning, online of course.

I was totally impressed.  By her legs.  I mean, she’s like 3 days from a nursing home and she’s still got great legs.  Me – I’m years and years away from eating blended food and I walk around on tree stumps.  My library doesn’t have enough workout DVD’s to help me get legs like hers.

Ah, the injustice.

So tell me, what was your favorite commercial?

4 thoughts on “Sunday’s Injustice & A Moment of Silence

  1. Cathy

    Didn’t watch the commercials until today on my lunch break. I like the Doritos one with the dog. Although I see from the poster above I haven’t seen all of them. Guess I’ll have to go check the rest out.

    Reply
  2. Jenn

    The grandmother being taunted with the doritos and her launching the baby (on the baby swing) to snatch them from the unsuspecting, obnoxious little boy who would not share. The Coke commericials with the polar bears are cute, but most of the other commercials last night were just plain boring, plain, unimaginative and for lack of a better word, stupid.

    The game was incredible though, battle from the get go. Bouncing off the chair watching it!!!

    Reply
  3. Emily@remodelingthislife

    That is how we watched, too! We got the little box thingy, but we stopped getting reception a few weeks ago. I couldn’t believe it was streamed live online when I went to nfl.com to check the score. Pretty neat…I won’t unsubscribe. I think you are practical just like me 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

