A Touch of Spring

Yesterday was around forty-eight degrees and sunshiny.  In February!

I actually walked to the doctors to get my allergy shots.  My daughter insisted that it was too hot for shoes, so she dug out her flip-flops from the back of the closet.  She also refused to wear a coat.

“It smells like spring.”  She said.  “I don’t even think it’s going to snow again.”

Let’s hope she is right.  Who needs some dumb ole’ groundhog when you’ve got a child in flip-flops!

I kept my socks on my feet, because I’m not quite as brave and carefree as my daughter.  Sometimes it’s hard to believe that only a few short years ago, I was afraid she wouldn’t find her voice.

Now, to my enjoyment, she will not stop using it.  I like learning all the trivial details about her classmates, and I know her teacher’s eating habits.  That clearly gives me a one-up during teacher/parent conferences.  Don’t you think?

Apples – Candy – Coffee

I totally believe the goodness of the apples cancel out all ill effects from sugar + caffeine.

I’ve got your back Teach!

This weekend my little girl used her birthday money to buy a pair of glasses to use as a fashion accessory.  The arms of the glasses are a pink and black splotches and they have little rhinestones in the corners.  I just want to know why her frames cost $10.50 in Claires and my cheap plastic frames cost $127.50 at the eye center.  Sometimes life just isn’t fair.

She also grew a colorful clump of feathers.   She’s pretty much a diva in the making.  I’m just hoping she’s right about spring.

How’s the weather in your part of the world?

13 thoughts on “A Touch of Spring

  1. simplynareida

    I have to say that these are really great photos that you have taken (perfect lighting etc). As far as New York / New Jersey, I am still waiting for Winter to start lol. I actually am hoping this is the worst it gets and that Spring will bring forth warm weather!

    Reply
    1. the domestic fringe Post author

      Thank you for the compliment on my photos. Most of the time they don’t turn out so well. My camera takes notoriously blurry pictures and it’s auto focus. I’d love to get a new camera someday soon. It has been an incredibly mild winter this year. I wouldn’t mind if I didn’t see another snowflake. 😉
      ~FringeGirl

      Reply
  2. Sara

    How cute! You might have a little Diva in the making!! 🙂 I love her gumption to wear flip-flops–you go, girl! We have just now started having winter weather–low 40’s! It’s been a crazy season!! P.S. I “pinned” you on my God Centered Living board because I think you are awesome! 🙂

    Reply
  3. Deb

    I don’t think it’s ever gonna be warm again here! Just kidding but I think the snow would freeze her flip flopped feet around here today. Keep encouraging Fringekid, she will become a strong, confident young lady some day. 🙂

    Reply
  4. Adventures of a Middle Age Mom

    It’s supposed to be 50+ degrees today! It’s a great day for the Giants Parade in the Canyon of Heroes! My daughter hopes to see the parade, but I am pleading work (besides, I’m really a Steelers fan). I have to write! Write!
    Enjoy the sunshine. Take a long walk and store up the sun!
    Darlene

    Reply

Leave a Reply

