WIWW: Clearance Can Still Mean Cute

I said I wasn’t going to participate in WIWW anymore, but then I got some encouragement to keep going and I found a cute dress for a nice price.  Now I’m back in WIWW business, at least for this week.

Sometimes we see fashion blogs and look longingly at outfits that cost more than our monthly grocery bill.  It can be discouraging, or not.  My philosophy is to take inspiration from great fashion and then recreate looks with items you can afford, because let’s face it, sometimes you find yourself living on Walmart budget.  I do too.

I believe you get what you pay for and better stores sell better quality clothes that will last from season to season.  It’s true, but if you don’t have the money to invest in great pieces, wear what you can afford, even if it’s hand-me-downs.  Just do the best you can with what you have.  Sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn’t.  That’s life.  There’s always tomorrow.

So in honor of budget conscious fashion, I present thrifty finds.

I was in Kmart shopping for a sweatshirt and gym shorts for my son when I happened upon three racks of clearance clothes.  I felt the gravitational pull of the red sticker and poked around for bit.

I pulled out this little gem.  It’s got a bow, ruffles, and dots…what’s not to love?  I’m sure I could have dressed it up better for this photo, but…some days you just have to do the best you can.  After all, it was snowing.

Here’s the out-take.  I was reaching for the camera so I could make a mad dash back to the house and the warmth of my woodstove.  My son likes taking funny pictures of me.  I suspect he’s collecting them for future punishment.

Anyway, the shirt was around $11.  I can’t remember exactly.  I am happy to say it washed perfectly.

Yes, I cut my head off, but there’s a good reason.  Originally I thought I was just having a bad hair day; however, when I looked at the photos, I realized I was having a bad face day.  Glad I didn’t know it until the day was over.

This dress is from Walmart. $9.98.  I could wear this outfit every single day of my life.  It’s that comfortable.  It’s like wearing pajamas without the social awkwardness.  I suppose I could also wear this in the summer with a white tank top underneath and cute sandals.  I’ve had the green t-shirt for years and I paired the dress with leggings and boots from Target. This dress also washed very well.  I suppose it might look cute with a brown belt around the waist, but I don’t have any cute belts, so it is what it is.

I think a girl can dress cute on any budget.  What about you?  Have you ever been forced to look for deals from less than desirable retailers?  Find any gems among the rocks?

Do you have an outfit you love to wear because of it’s comfort?

Share your thoughts in the comments, and then check out Pleated Poppy’s WIWW.

19 thoughts on “WIWW: Clearance Can Still Mean Cute

  1. zenmamajo

    WIWW is a brilliant idea – love that you rock stuff from kmart – i’m a goodwill kinda gal *hahah*. “bad face day” was the funniest comment – eager to use it in conversation *haha*.

    Reply
  2. robinaltman

    Very trendy pieces. You look adorable (even without a face). There is an awesome outlet mall near here, and I go with a certain friend when they have a great sale. It’s very fun. We’re shopping soul mates.

    Reply
  3. Jane

    I am a horrible “sale” or thrifty shopper when it comes to clothes for myself. I think I need to take you shopping with me!

    Reply
  4. Piglet in Portugal

    Like the outfit in the snow!

    I never pay much for clothes I’m broke 😦 I recycle everything…
    Walmart and some of the chains have some great offers…you just need to select carefully. Black trousers are black trousers after all, wherever you buy them 🙂

    Reply
  5. Tiffany

    Girl, I am all about the budget! I rarely ever buy something unless it’s on clearance or from the thrift store! lol I think your thrifty finds are really cute!!

    Oh, and I HATE having bad face days. Mine usually pop up during those horribly muggy, rainy days we get sometimes during the summer. =/

    Reply
  6. debbie york

    I can’t think of a better accessory to pair with that darling blouse than snow. Juxtaposition and all…ya know!
    Buying clothes for me is a challenge. I don’t know who was the clever one who came up with the idea that women my age (and size) want pineapples down the leg of their britches! That said…I shop at TJMaxx and Marshall’s. I can get better things at half the price (and as long as I don’t gain any more weight) and a lot of mileage outta ’em.
    I reall do love that blouse and can’t believe it was on clearance.
    Debbie

    Reply
  7. kristen duke photoraphy

    Bad face day–ha! I get that, too;) And funny, I have my son take my pics and he snaps away which I love because I get tired of the posey posey shots. Thanks for commenting on my WIWW, I haven’t posted that in a while. LOVE your k-mart special, I get too impatient to sift through clearance–having a little one usually with me. I’m also lovin that snow and lovely green home in the background!

    Reply
    1. the domestic fringe Post author

      Wish I could take credit for the green house, but that’s my neighbor. Maybe I’ll just start taking my photos in front of my neighbor’s houses…lol…that might just work. 😉

      Reply
  8. free penny press

    Very cute outfits!!.. I wish I could wear leggings (too hot here in FL.)..I get 90% of my clothes from thrift, consignment shops. Been told I’m a fairly chic (*rolls eyes*) dresser..
    -Lynne-

    Reply
    1. the domestic fringe Post author

      Lynne, I enjoy thrift shopping too, but I don’t have any good consignment/thrift stores nearby, so I have to stick to clearance. You should participate in WIWW so we get to see some of those “chic” outfits. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

