Happy Palm Sunday

Posts on The Domestic Fringe are going to be spotty this coming week and probably the week after too.  We’re going away for Easter and planning all kinds of fun times with family, so I’m sure I’ll pop in every now and again to say hello and make sure you’re all alive, but I can guarantee there won’t be any regular posting.

Let’s be honest, you all need a break from me anyway.  How many messy drawers can I show you in one month?  I desperately need a break, a change of scenery, and some new adventures.

Since today is Palm Sunday, I wanted to share two of my favorite Easter finds for kids.  I’ve used these with my own kids and also with children in a group, like Sunday School or Children’s Church.  I think they are a pretty fantastic way to teach kids why we celebrate Easter.  As fun as bunnies and chicks and chocolate can be, that’s not the real Easter story.

I know many of you have traditions that you and your family participate in during this season, and I’d love to hear all about them in the comments.  You probably already know about the two items I’m going to show you, because they’ve been around for a long time, but maybe someone hasn’t seen them.  I thought I’d share.

1.  Resurrection Eggs

2.  Benjamin’s Box

You can use the resurrection eggs with the book.  It’s so fun!  Kids love it.  Once I bought little treasure boxes and all the items mentioned in Benjamin’s Box and used that as a coordinating craft/activity.  I’ve provided links, so you can hop over and read the descriptions.  No sense in my rehashing everything that’s already been said.

Hope you had a lovely day!

Are you excited for Easter?  It’s such a big holiday, but I’m afraid I sometimes don’t celebrated it with the passion it deserves.

So now it’s your turn…

Do you have special traditions or things you like to do on or around Easter?

2 thoughts on “Happy Palm Sunday

  1. the speech monster

    i’m excited for Easter…mostly for the easter sermon. since we’re so far away from our homes we probably won’t have anything planned. we might start our own tradition. 🙂

    ALSO…since someone nominated me for this blog award and the rules say to pass it on i’ve decided to pass it on to you! so check out my blog for more deets.

    happy Easter. It’s nice to celebrate a risen Saviour

    Reply
  2. Tiffany

    I love Easter!! Our church puts on an amazing Easter production that is the perfect reminder of Christ’s death, burial and resurrection. I LOVE it.

    Other than that, we don’t really have any big Easter traditions. We may dye a few eggs this year, but I haven’t decided for sure. We’re just going to play it by ear, I guess.

    Have a good time and enjoy your trip!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

