Artificiality

Stone Mountain, Georgia

Artificiality

~ by FringeBoy

I went to McDonald’s one Saturday night.

I walked up to the counter and ordered a tea.

The awful stuff gave me quite a fright,

For what I was drinking was pure artificiality.

I spit it out on the floor.

I said, “Adios” and

I walked out the door.

____________________________________________

First, I would like to say how pleased I am that my son expressed himself through poetry.  He wrote this a little while back and I just ran across it once again.  I’m 100% on board with his thought process.  I believe McDonald’s is artificial; however, who goes McDonald’s and orders only “tea”?

French Fries – Definitely.

A Big Mac – OK.

A Chocolate Shake – Very Likely.

But TEA?

He must have visited a British McDonald’s.  It’s the only explanation.

We’re certainly not poets in our house, but creativity sideswipes us sometimes.  Even my daughter was writing acrostic poetry tonight.  Although my children seems to be getting groovy with their words, don’t expect to hear them at any coffee shop readings.  We’re just not that cool.  But, we do drink tea.  That must count for something.

How about you?

Are you smitten with poetry?

Do your words pour forth in iambic pentameter?

On a scale from 1-10, how groovy are you?

I’m about a -2.

9 thoughts on “Artificiality

  1. crubin

    I’m a 7 on the tea, though I’m striving to be a 10 (it’s good for you!), but I’m a big 0 on the poetry. Can’t write it and don’t really desire to (for which the world should be grateful…) But I loved your son’s poem! Better than anything I could achieve. 🙂

    Reply
  2. Cathy

    No tea for me, but hubby and youngest daughter would do that. Give me a cheeseburger and fries! ha

    Poetry – again, not for me. Well not unless you would call the little rhymes I make up to the tunes of different songs would count! I do that quite often. Or how about I used a soldier’s marching cadence and made up words to teach my daughter’s their name and address when they were starting school. It actually worked pretty well!

    But real poetry- no way. But again, my youngest daughter likes to write poetry.

    Reply
  3. Deb

    Hey, where’s your stars???? I love poetry although I don’t write any. I love your son’s poem though. I mean, how many words rhyme with artificiality? 😉

    Reply
  4. AmberPamper

    ha that is cute. i have this vision of your son spittin’ that tea and leaving out of there in a tizzy! i do go to mcdonald’s just for a large diet coke. ohhhh the fountain carbonated fake drink makes me sooo happy!!!

    Reply
  5. Jenn

    I have to say, I have been known to go to the McDonald’s drive thru to purchase only the Sweet Tea. It’s a very large cup for only $1. Not that I have purchased other things at other times, but there were days when I just needed some sweet tea. That was before I found Arizona Sweet Tea – SO MUCH BETTER tasting that McTea. LOVE IT!!! And you get a lot more than 32oz of it!! After reading a report of what and how McDonald’s makes their Chicken McNUggets, I have completely stopped going to McDonald’s even when I get a craving for their french fries, which are still the best (in my opinion) than any other fast food chain.
    Hope you are feeling better!! (Hope this post reads all right, the screen kept jumping and showing only the top of my post. EEK)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

