Full of Wonder

Life is pretty fabulous.

I’m not talking about the extra-special things that may or may not happen to you.  I’m talking about the ordinary day to day, life itself.  It’s great because it’s unexpected.

You wake up in the morning, toast a bagel, argue with the kids over who spilled milk on their homework, and head out into a day of unknowns.  There’s no shortage of things that can make you wonder.

It’s a good life.

Take for example, this note that my daughter brought home from school.

Now that warmer weather is hopefully on its way to [my town] again.  I need to address the subject of proper clothing for school.

Please, girls should not be wearing any short shorts or shirts with spaghetti straps.  In addition, no pajamas are to be worn to school or any shirts or hats with innappropriate phrases on them.

See how they have to tell us not to wear our pajamas to school?

I always assumed that was a given, but I live in pajama-mama world.  You thought I was joking the last time I made reference to everyone in my town wearing pajamas as day clothes.  No sirree.  I tell the truth around here.

Next week, I bet they send home a note asking parents not to wear their pajamas when picking up their children from school.  It’s coming folks.  I may frame it when it comes, because nobody would believe me.

The other thing that about slapped-me-in-the-face and made me wonder is why some women feel the need to excessively self-tan.  I mean, I’m all about looking a shade or two darker than ghost pale, but why not quit a shade lighter than Dorito?

Fritos might be nice, but Doritos are just too much color.

 

It’s a wonder this thing called life.

Don’t you just love it?

What’s made you stop and wonder lately?

10 thoughts on “Full of Wonder

  1. Jill

    I totally agree that Frito is a lovely shade of tan, and it’s never appropriate to wear your pajamas outside the house. Unless it’s a late night run to a drive through where you never get out of your car and you covered your jammies with a coat. Not that I’ve ever done that.

    Reply
  2. Mariah

    Love the dorito/frito comparison! Too funny! And I’m a bit sad and a bit elated that you have such a serious pajama issue going on in your town! HA, please, do frame that second note, when it comes. you know its coming.Thanks for stopping by my blog today, I’m glad to meet you!

    Reply
  3. laura

    You make me laugh out loud: I mean, I’m all about looking a shade or two darker than ghost pale, but why not quit a shade lighter than Dorito?
    True story! Now, I have to ask…are the Dorito people also the ones who wear pjs?

    Reply
  4. AmberPamper

    I absolutely do not miss all the letters and forms sent home from school. Just one awesome thing about homeschooling my Sassy. I always say people who over-tan look like cheese nips but doritos is even better!! 🙂

    Reply
    1. the domestic fringe Post author

      We were in one school district and all the kids had a big plastic folder that tied with a string from the top. The folder came home with the papers once a week. I loved it. Such a better idea than every day.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

