Harley Dreams

The other day I went to the Harley Davidson shop with my husband.  I don’t like it there, but I do it to keep my marriage sweet, just like he sometimes gets out of the car and actually enters Hobby Lobby.  I think he’s mildly allergic to Hobby Lobby, because he gets goose bumps and starts to sweat as soon as the front doors part to allow him entrance.  He must have spent too much time eating glue and crayons as a child, because he now has an aversion to anything that may resemble arts & crafts.

It’s ok though.  I don’t expect him to love Hobby Lobby, just like he doesn’t expect me to love Harley.  He drooled over the bikes and I, well, I just drooled.  I realize some women love to ride bikes.  They aren’t born with birth marks, they are born with tattoos and black boots.  I’m just not that into it.  I have a hard enough time driving a car with four wheels; I don’t even want to imagine me on two wheels.  Know what I mean?  I wouldn’t just need a helmet, I’d need full-body armor.

I’ve only ridden a motorcycle once and I wasn’t driving.  I was hanging on for dear life and screaming, “Don’t lean!  Don’t lean!  I’m goooonnnnnaaaa dieeeeeeeeeee…..!!!”

I can honestly say, I have no desire to get back on a bike.

What about you?  Do you go spend time someplace with your husband just because you know he loves it there?

Do you ride?  If so, tell us why you love it.  Win me over to the dark side with your story. 😉

12 thoughts on “Harley Dreams

  1. Pingback: I Stop for It « the domestic fringe

  2. Jill

    My first time on a motorcycle was on my honeymoon. Hubby told me “first is down, second and third are up and neutral’s in the middle.” Then he sent me off. Not only did he not bother to explain exactly what first, second and third were and why I’d need them, but he neglected to mention where the brake was.

    Reply
  3. Elizabeth

    Hi!

    First time visitor – found you via Debra at Common Ground. Love your blog and story telling. Your love story is great – always a sucker for a good love story. Yes I ride – a scooter! But always wanted a Harley ever since I once lived in SD near Sturgis – where the Harleys rally once a year.

    My barber husband love to bass fish and now I do too – he taught me and even lets me drive his boat (very big deal in the bass fishing world that a wife drives the boat and even pulls into the dock).

    But the one thing I hate (think I am allergic to also) is going into auto care stores – like tire stores or where you buy oil and car batteries and such. I hate the smell and I would rather stab needles in my eyes than walk those aisles! But then again, I feel him tense up if we go near a fabric store…it makes him “itchy.” So I pass out with the smell in his stores, and I guess he gets the hives in mine…but we come together on our scooters and fishing.

    Sounds fair.

    Thanks for sharing – love your take on life.

    Big hugs
    Elizabeth

    Reply
  4. Piglet in Portugal

    “I think he’s mildly allergic to Hobby Lobby, because he gets goose bumps and starts to sweat as soon as the front doors part to allow him entrance.” Probably thinks you are going to spend a fortune.

    I wnet on a motorbike once. I held the guy so tight round his middle he thought I was going to strangle him, and no I did not lean either just screamed and screamed….

    Reply
  5. Tiffany

    lol My mom rides with my dad on his Harley! And she’s the most fashionable lady, too. I’m going to have to find a picture of her somewhere for you. lol

    I feel that way though when I go to Lowe’s or Home Depot. Ugh… just shoot me. And occasionally the Hubs will go with me to somewhere really terrible for him like the mall! That’s when you know he’s really trying to be nice. lol

    Reply
  6. The Illiterate Author

    Lol, I think my husband has the same allergy to craft stores! He’s a pretty good sport about it, but he looks pained the whole time we’re in there. In all fairness though, I do tend to get lost in A.C. Moore… it’s like a toy store for grown ups.

    Reply
  7. robinaltman

    I tried really hard to like golfing. I took some lessons with a friend and bought some horrifying golf clothes. Yeesh. I just couldn’t do it, though. My friend and I decided we only liked having lunch at the club restaurant.

    Reply
  8. berryprose

    I only went on one once with a guy I was dating several years ago. It was scary but exhilarating. Not the kind of exhilarating I want to repeat. I would rather hike or something. Even wash dishes. 🙂 I am lucky enough now to have someone who likes nerdy scifi and action like me, and even shares the whole travleling hiking and outdoorsy thing, but for the most part I just don’t tease him about snoring and not putting his dishes in the dishwasher. That’s my secret to a happy relationship. It does irk me with a capital I though.

    Reply
  9. Deb

    Well you look cute standing with the bike anyway. 🙂 I don’t like them either. My brother had one during high school and I used to love to ride on the back of it, but now not so much!

    Reply
  10. jaymers

    Oh, Fringegirl, I hear ya. I spent a lot of time on the back of my husband’s bike before we had kids, but always with a helmet. (Well, there was that first time when he never even thought to offer me one–he rode for years without a helmet! Yikes! I put a kabash on that, though, he did start wearing a helmet after my pleas and puppy dog eyes worked.) Funny enough, once the kids came along, he didn’t have time to ride and sort of hung up his helmet, so to speak. He just sold his Harley about a month ago (after three years of it just sitting in the garage), and used the money to buy our camper. But, I have to say that I’m a little envious about your Hobby Lobby tales… my husband most definitely goes nowhere near that place. Oddly, I can barely get my kids OUT of that place. Why must everything be breakable and at eye level?

    Reply
  11. Melissa

    Cute! My husband loves motorcycles and we rode a lot when we were dating…having kids makes it impossible to ever do that but he still dreams of owning one. I would never dream of riding one myself but have no problem being on the back of one ,I enjoy it actually. I hate going into music stores just to look at pianos I know he isn’t going to buy because he already has one or other musical instruments because not being musical myself I have no interest but he loves it so I go with him. But in return he is always willing to come shopping with me and never complains so it works out for the both of us!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

