A Daughter & A Dress

My kids are still on a very long Memorial Day weekend break.  They had a few extra snow days they didn’t use, so this holiday is turning into a mini summer vacation.  It feels like July, so it’s fitting the kids are off and begging to play in water, any water will do.  To them a mud filled puddle of road drain-off is just as good as the town’s chlorinated pool that will not be open for at least another month.

With temperatures in the mid-to-high 80’s, we’re throwing sweaters into trash bags (because my great mission organization hasn’t found my closets yet) and digging out summer clothes.  Eighty-six degrees feels like sauna when you experience frozen rain in the same calendar month.

That’s why when my mom, myself, and my kids stopped in a store this weekend, I grabbed a few pairs of $7.88 shorts and headed into the fitting room.  My mistake is I brought my daughter, the loose lips of honesty, into the fitting room with me.

I’ve recently lost fifteen pounds and I’m at peace with my fat.  Sure I could subject myself to boot camp style exercise and Jillian Michaels, but I don’t have a death wish just yet.  I’m perfectly content to take long evening walks with my family, rather than being screamed at by my DVD (I started to type VCR) player.  I respect Jillian’s prowess in the world of fat-burning, but if I wanted to be on the biggest loser, I would not have spent the last six  weeks eating ten bunches of bananas, four pounds of almonds, and three dozen fried, but not in butter eggs.

I don’t have cholesterol problems in case you’re wondering.  I once had a doctor tell me I had the cholesterol of a teenager.  I still ask God why I couldn’t just have the metabolism of a teenager, but He is eerily silent.

The first pair of not-so-short shorts fit perfectly, were $7.88, and a neutral color.  I was all set to make them my summer uniform when my daughter scrunched up her face and shook her head.

“What? Don’t you think these will work?”

“Well…”  She said and I knew any ounce of pride over those lost fifteen pounds was about to get flushed down the toilet.

“It’s just that when people get to your age, they shouldn’t be wearing that.  And, your legs don’t look so good.”

Remind me why I carried a nine and a half pound child around in my stomach and then labored to birth this mammoth baby of truth.

Needless to say I didn’t buy any shorts or shirts or any other summery articles of clothing.  I’ll either work with what I’ve got or sell my daughter on eBay and buy the shorts.  Maybe they’ll be on clearance by then.

Anyway, because I lost fifteen pounds and because I still need to join a leg fat recovery group, I’m giving away a dress.  You’ve seen this dress before, but I promise I’ve never worn it other than in these photos.  I went to throw it on this weekend, but it’s too big on me, so I thought one of you might be able to use it.

Here is a photo of me in the dress back when it was way too cold to even think about wearing it.

Cruise Dress Fresh Produce

Why I love this dress:

1. It’s cotton.

2. It’s easy, just throw it over it over head, no fussing involved.

3. It’s washable – always a plus when you live in my house.

4. The little ruffle on the bottom flounces up and down when you walk down a flight of stairs. So cute! I’d buy it just for the ruffle.

This is an Augustine Sunshine Dress from Fresh Produce.  You can follow the link and see all the details.  This dress is a size Large and runs true to size.

If you’d like to be entered in a drawing to receive this dress, please let me know in your comment that you WANT the dress.

There are NO RULES to this giveaway, but I would appreciate it if you could hit the “LIKE” button on The Domestic Fringe’s Facebook page.  You’ll find the little box in the right sidebar and I would also appreciate your sharing this post somehow.  I don’t know how many of my readers would fit into or want this dress and I’d like to get it to someone who will enjoy it.

Thanks so much!

If you’re ever feeling a little too good about yourself, just let me know.  I’ll send my daughter right over. 😉

11 thoughts on “A Daughter & A Dress

  1. momfog

    The dress is cute but wouldn’t work for me. However, I’m happy to share this on Facebook.
    I’ve recently lost weight, too, but I don’t think it’s going to help in the summer clothes department. I don’t own a single pair of shorts. Thank goodness for capris!

    Reply
  2. berryprose

    I am an honest woman, and it really doesn’t look like you need to lose anything else! WHy are they always so honest? I cringe when I hear the words..’no offense mom’ coming from my daughter’s mouth.

    Reply
    1. the domestic fringe Post author

      Thank you, but honestly, I need to lose about another 10 pounds. It’s because I have a stomach problem. So I’m trying the weight loss (dr. recommended) along with some medicine and diet change to try and help it. I wish I didn’t need to lose anymore! 😉

      Reply
      1. berryprose

        Well you look great on this side of the computer screen! Especially after having youn’uns..I know! Although it does give a great excuse to those “no offense mom” comments LOL.

        Reply
  3. Kristin

    Congrats on your weight loss! p.s. I was scared of Jillian at first too…but she whipped me back into shape after baby number one! I’m going to let her torture me after this lady bean is born too. Haha!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

