Surviving: Hope Lives Here

Many months ago I asked you to pray for my uncle, Wayne the Pain.  One night he woke up choking on blood, only to find out he had throat cancer.  It didn’t make any sense.  He never smoked.  Why him?

Unfortunately the question is more like Why not him?  Why not any of us?

Cancer does not discriminate.

It afflicts the young and old, the strong and fit, as well as the person who abuses his body.  I suspect each of us are touched by cancer in some way, whether you are a fighter, a survivor, a friend, or family member.  It’s a disease that destroys, but in the midst of devastation, there’s HOPE.

Back in February, I took the above picture in The Hope Lodge in New York City.  I can’t say enough good things about The Hope Lodge.  I know similar “homes” are set up around the country for cancer patients and their families.  The work they do is so important.  It blesses people in a way they’ll never forget.  They literally change lives.

If you ever have the opportunity to help a home run by the American Cancer Society or similar entity, don’t ever hesitate.  Go and see what they do; learn how they give hope every single day.

This is my aunt and uncle at The Hope Lodge back in February.  Don’t let their smiles fool you; they were going through the toughest times of their lives.

This is them today.  Both cancer survivors.  They are more than just survivors though, they are conquerors and that didn’t just begin with the diagnosis of cancer.  They’ve been through some tough times in their lives and they’ve never let go of hope.

I’m proud of them, but above all, I’m thankful.  So very thankful.

God gave them life and hope to live that life.

16 thoughts on “Surviving: Hope Lives Here

  1. Aunt Pay

    Tricia, do you realize how special you are and how many people your touch with kindness. I love you so much and I am so proud of you.

    Reply
  2. Mom

    It is amazing, that no matter where we are in this life on earth, God is always there with his arms open wide. I praise Him for healing both Wayne and Maria of the horrible cancer. I also praise Him that He wants to heal broken hearts too. To jmgoyder—you will be in my prayers. Remember, God is there waiting for you to walk into His open arms.

    Reply
  3. Missindeedy

    Hope is such a beautiful thing. Sometimes, especially in the face of the inexplicable. I am heartened by your family’s ability to cling to it despite…

    Reply
  4. jmgoyder

    But sometimes, as you point out in the early part of your post, there is no explainable reason. And sometimes hope, faith and love aren’t enough – then what? Sorry, I’m a bit down about Husband.

    Reply
    1. the domestic fringe Post author

      It’s ok. You don’t have to be sorry. I know life gets really hard sometimes and we don’t always get the answers to prayer that we want. Sometimes there is no cure or hope of a cure, but we can still cling to faith in the Lord and the promise that He (the Lord) has prepared a better place for us. God knows our sorrows and sorrows with us. The Bible says that sometimes when we don’t even have the words in prayer, Jesus intercedes for us. This world is a hard place, but we can always cling to the hope of an eternal heaven. I don’t know what you believe, but I know that Bible says that Jesus walked this earth and suffered our infirmities. He gave his life on the cross of Calvary for us. He forgives sin and wants to give us a home in heaven so we can be with him for all eternity. There’s always hope. Things in this life may not be the way we want it or the way it should be, but the Lord still wants to give us comfort in sorrow. Do you have a Bible? I would try reading Psalms. It full of words of comfort. I’m so very sorry for your pain. I know you deal with crisis every single day and your breaks for those you love. No one should have to go through that. I hope I didn’t overstep any boundaries by sharing this with you. I want you to know I share because I care. Hugs from a bloggy friend in New York.
      ~FringeGirl

      Reply
      1. jmgoyder

        What a beautiful person you are. Yes, I have lots of Bibles because I was brought up inside evangelical Christianity so your words are familiar but, strangely, unfamiliar because, I guess, they are coming from you instead of my dictatorial grandfather etc. I am beginning to, once again, embrace/explore the faith I mislaid so am grateful for your lovely reply and generosity of spirit. I will get there.

        Reply

Leave a Reply

