Full On Summer

Hello Monday!

I’m actually liking you today, because…

I am immersed in summer.

I am at least three shades darker than January.

Freckles have taken over my life.

School, although only dismissed for one full week, is a distant memory to the kids.

kids fell asleep in car

Sunshine, ice-pops, and chlorine detail our days.

We can live like this forever, or at least until September.

And now, because I love you, I am going to share a little bit of heaven in a mason jar.

Source: peanutbutterandpeppers.com via Tricia on Pinterest

I originally discovered this recipe on Pinterest, but tweeked it slightly in order to use what I already have in my kitchen cabinets.

Here’s the recipe:

* 1 1/2 cups strongly brewed coffee, frozen in ice-cube trays (I use decaf, because I am a lightweight.)

* 1/2 cup milk

* 1 tbs. Swiss Miss hot cocoa mix OR 1 tbs. cocoa powder

* Sugar to taste (I use a 1/4 tsp. Stevia)

* 3 tbs. vanilla extract (I use 2 tbs. Fringe Vanilla)

Let’s talk about vanilla extract for a moment, shall we?

Although I’m sure every soul on this earth knows I make vanilla extract, I am going to tell you again.

It’s called….

Fringe Vanilla

Fringe Vanilla is 100% pure vanilla extract made by me with certified organic vanilla beans.  People tell me it’s good and it’s strong.  It’s a difference you can smell and taste.  Once you use the real stuff, you won’t go back.

I sell 4 ounces for $10 + $3 shipping anywhere in US and Canada.  If you want a bottle, let me know.  Trust me, you need a bottle.  Or two.  If you live somewhere besides the US or Canada, let me know and we’ll adjust the shipping.

Now go make yourself a frozen latte and get out in the sunshine!

Mix all ingredients in a blender and pour into a large cup or mason jar.  I like the mason jar.  It makes me feel special and a bit lavish.  After all, it holds a quart of latte.  Don’t forget to add a straw!  If you feel like living it up, a touch of whip-cream couldn’t hurt.

Summer days are numbered, and I’m living every moment of each day with a smile.

How are you enjoying your summer days?

Happy Monday and Happy Summer!  Go visit Lisa for more Hello Monday posts.

23 thoughts on “Full On Summer

  1. Teresa

    Ahhhhh, Summer.
    I truly could live in an eternal summer.
    That drink looks delish, especially in that jar, with the polka dot straw.
    Perfection!

    Reply
  2. Missindeedy

    Yummy! That recipe sounds delightful for a nice hot summer day. Love that you are 3 whole shades darker!! 🙂 We are enjoying the boat, the beach, and the obligatory (tough job, I know…) ice cream runs that seem to follow each.

    Reply
  3. Shannon

    That looks delish! I’m enjoying the summer with the kiddos too. I might have o get m some vanilla…the label is adorable! I could totally see it as a gift basket item for a foodie friend. ciao!

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Inspiration « spotlight316ministries

Leave a Reply

