The Great Outdoors

covered bridge in New York

I’m pooped.  All morning I’ve wandered around piles of clothes, sleeping bags, and stacks of chairs (and that’s only in my dining room) trying to put everything away, but all I’ve managed to do is load the dishwasher and fill the washing machine.  It’s nearly eleven o’clock.  At this rate, we should have a clean spoon and fresh socks by dinner.

We spent the weekend at a family reunion, but more on that later, or tomorrow, or whenever I have those clean socks.

I just wanted to tell you that I took a big-girl pill and slept in a tent.

FIRST TIME!

It counts as camping even if you pitch a tent in a cousin-in-law’s backyard, doesn’t it?

Because when I had to go to the bathroom at two o’clock in the morning, it felt like camping.  I nudged FringeMan awake to ask him where the flashlight was and he handed me a pink pig.

First let me say that waking up your husband because you have to tinkle is not the secret to a happy marriage.  Second, do not rely on a ten year-old girl to grab a flashlight when you’re packing the car.

Not only was the flashlight a pink pig, but it was hand operated, so I had to continually squeeze the pig’s mid-section on my long walk through the backyard wilderness until I reached the port-o-potty.  The back door of the house was open, but my bladder already woke FringeMan up, so I resisted the urge to alert the rest of the neighborhood to the fact that I gotta-go-gotta-go-gotta-go-real-bad.

Once the port-o-potty door slammed shut, my pig cast psychedelic bursts of light that bounced off the blue walls in flashes of color.  It was quite the trip.

Now that I can say I conquered the great outdoors, I can go back to sleeping in beds, because the ground is like a sleeping on a bed of nails.  At least that’s what my tailbone thought after an injury Saturday night.  I’ll save that story though.  It will appear in the next episode of My Kids Tried to Kill Me.  Again.

Source: nataliedee.com via Jenny on Pinterest

Coming up this week….

I’m a War Bride

Family Trees – DIY

A Family Reunion Crashing Neighbor

and,

My Kids Tried to Kill Me

I know.  You’re hanging on the edge of your seat, aren’t you.  There may even be a bonus post called How to Eat 7 Desserts in 2 Days, but I doubt it.  I don’t like to dwell on the fact that I went on a sugar binge.

So tell me, how was your weekend?

7 thoughts on “The Great Outdoors

  1. Missindeedy

    I’m thinking I’m with you on this one. Camping in someone’s backyard DOES indeed count!! Hope you and your tailbone get to feeling back to normal sooner than later.

    Reply
  2. The Illiterate Author

    You make me laugh 🙂 I love the line “My pig cast psychedelic bursts of light that bounced off the blue walls in flashes of color.” I’m not a big fan of sleeping on the ground, either.

    Reply
  3. Amber

    Ha! You’ve checked it off the list now back to normal. 🙂 Absolutely must use an air mattress. I love camping as long as I have the air mattress.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

