Family Tree – DIY

in laws - relationships

Me & My Mother-In-Law

This weekend we attended a family reunion for my husband’s side of the family.  We had tons of fun and ate the most amazing food all day long, but what really impressed me was that my husband’s cousin came up with the idea of making a family tree.  She’s a genius.  I looked all over facebook for a photo of her at the family reunion and I couldn’t find a good one.  My mother-in-law commissioned me to take photos, but I had to use her 35mm disposable camera, so I don’t have the photos from it.

To be honest, I couldn’t remember how to use the stupid thing.  I mean, film?  What’s that?  How quickly times change.  Don’t they?

All the more reason to make a family tree and start preserving memories.

No I’m not talking about an edible family tree, although this was one of the best carrot cakes I’ve ever eaten.

I’m talking about a family tree on a canvas.  Everyone placed their thumbprint on the appropriate branch of the tree.

family tree diy

What you’ll need:

  • A Large Canvas
  • Brown Paint
  • Several Shades of Green Paint
  • 1 Paper Plate
  • Wet Wipes
  • A Good Micron Pen

Paint the tree ahead of time with the appropriate number of branches – one for each branch of the family.  Skirt several shades of green paint onto the paper plate.  Your relatives can dip their thumb into the paint and leave their “leaf” (thumbprint) on the tree.  Have everyone sign their name next to their leaf.

Family Tree on Canvas

Isn’t that a nice idea?

cousins

My Brother-in-Law and his Fiance

Has your family had a reunion?

 

9 thoughts on “Family Tree – DIY

  1. Missindeedy

    Not lately. It’s been well over 2 decades since I’ve been to one. I think that Family Tree project is fabulous! Thanks for sharing another great useable idea!

    Reply
  2. Tiffany

    I love that idea!! We get together with my dad’s family (9 brothers and sisters who are all married with kids) a few times a year. It’s always crazy fun. =)

    Reply
  3. Angie Vik

    I love the family tree idea. I hope you had a great time at the family reunion. Your pictures are great. I also have never been to a family reunion. They look like fun.

    Reply
  4. JennG

    I’ve had an idea for a family tree that I’ve wanted to do for a few years. Hopefully, it will work and look good, but it won’t happen until we’re in the house.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

