A Little Birdy Told Me

Bird Shirt TargetThe other night I let my daughter into my closet.  She went wild.

It was a regular dress-up session and I was the Barbie doll, only without the twelve inch waist and great legs.

She mixed and matched every piece of clothing I own.  Then she tried on all my shoes.

Boyfriends jeans and Target bird shirt

When she was done, it looked like a thrift store threw up in my bedroom.

But, she hugged me tight and told me what fun she had.  Then she told me to wear a tank top with my green bird shirt.

She was right.

Target fall outfit

Please forgive my blurry photos.

I have two problems – a ten year-old photographer and a camera dying a slow death.

Because this shirt has such a cool exposed zipper in the back, I asked my daughter to snap a picture of it.

This is the only time you will see my backside photographed.  Ever.

women's fashion Target

I am wearing head-to-toe Target.

Target, do you hear me?

I’m wearing all of your clothes and shoes.  Please tell me that counts for something.

If you want to send me a new camera, I’ll keep taking lousy, but not so blurry photos in your clothes.

And I’ll love you forever.

blue & white striped wedges Target

Jewelry is Charming Charlies.

I wore this the other day to go grocery shopping and school supply shopping.

After dropping $62 on school supplies, I was glad I wore cute shoes, because at the price of paper and pencils, it will be the last pair of cute shoes I own.

I’m linking to The Pleated Poppy’s What I Wore Wednesday.

If you haven’t played along yet, it’s fun and it gets you out of yoga pants and a t-shirt.

Win-win.

And now for my fashion-forward children….

Lady Gaga Hair Bow

Isn’t she so cute in her “hair” bow?

Now before ten thousand people tell me Lady Gaga invented this look, I know, I know, I know, I know!

But I still think it’s adorable.

We’ve declared it a first day of school hairdo.

And now folks, it’s Jimmy Buffet.  Junior.

jimmy buffet outfit Let’s go get a Cheeseburger in Paradise.

The End.

I am also Joining Monday Mingle, so hop over for a visit!

26 thoughts on “A Little Birdy Told Me

  1. Angie Vik

    You’re brave to turn your daughter loose with your wardrobe. I’d be afraid to see what my girls come up with. She did a good job. Her hair bow is really cute.

    Reply
  2. Missindeedy

    You are one fun mama! Love the little hair bow on your girlie. And that birdie shirt with the zipper is just fun fun. I’d like to know how you walked around in those (gorgeous) shoes all day and didn’t get blisters??? How about a little tell-all on that? That there takes some talent.

    Reply
  3. sarahhulbert

    That young lady has got an eye for style! Both your kiddos are adorable and Lady Gaga’s got nothin’ on your cute little fashionista. Thanks for commenting on my blog so I could find yours!!! ~Sarah

    Reply
  4. Lucy Jane

    I let my five year old twin boys help me pick out shoes at DSW…it is the funniest thing. They pull out all the ones with the most bling on them. Such a fun time with your daughter!

    Reply
    1. the domestic fringe Post author

      Jessie, so funny. My daughter picks out some stuff that I just can’t think about wearing in public, but every once in a while, she puts together a fun outfit that I wouldn’t have thought of.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

