Seeing Dots

Once I wrote a post chock-full of fashion advice (Fashion: What to Wear at Any Age).  I do not know what possessed me write such a thing.  It’s like me writing a post on how to surgically remove a gallbladder.  I don’t even know where the gallbladder is located, much less how to cut it out, but with blogging comes the responsibility to dish out advice.  Good or bad.  Expert or not.

It is probably my most shared post.  Go figure.

One bit of advice I gave is to wear the appropriate outfit for the appropriate function.

This past week, I failed.

Polka Dot blouse fall fashionSometimes it is hard to interpret “appropriate”.

And sometimes it is hard to know why my cheek looks like a giant polka dot.

fashion advice fail

I dressed the jeans up a bit too much.  I should have worn a t-shirt and flip-flops.

Who knew?

polka dot fall fashion women

Not me.

Jeans: Target, Blouse: Gift from my aunt (purchased in Ross), Shoes: Miz Mooz

Today I am linking up with the Pleated Poppy’s What I Wore Wednesday.  I know it’s ackward to have someone snap photos of your outfits, but it’s a lot of fun and it takes you outside your fashion comfort zone.  Sometimes that is good, especially when your comfort zone is baggy t-shirts and ratty old yoga pants.  It also helps you wear everything in your closet instead of saving all the “good” clothes for special occasions that never really come.

Maybe you’ll consider joining next Wednesday?

Until then, feel free to give me your fashion advice.  I love this shirt.  The polka-dots make me smile and it ties in the back at the neckline.  So fun and quirky, but in these photos, I am thinking it makes me look like a giant on top.  Perhaps I should style this shirt differently.  Really I have no idea.  We’ve already established I should not be giving fashion advice.

Critics will not be banished from my blog, so feel free to talk among yourselves.

22 thoughts on “Seeing Dots

  1. Katie

    I think that top is so fun! and looks great with those jeans! I think it would look cute tucked into a pencil skirt or higher waisted jeans too!

    Reply
  2. Jamie

    So funny that we posted about the same shirt on the same day… of all the “Wearing Wednesdays.” I agree that it is hard to style. I pretty much just always wear it with black skinnies, but I love the high waisted skirt idea! Good luck!! And thanks for stopping by my blog! 🙂

    Reply
  3. H&K Style Journey

    Ok, here are my thoughts…this shirt is absolutely adorable and the way you styled it looks just fine. If I was to style this top, I try to stick with the rule of more voluminus on top the more fitted the bottom. Also these types of shirts work well belted and layered with cardis and blazers. Although this rule might not always work for others. Either way, you look fine! Heather

    Reply
    1. the domestic fringe Post author

      Heather, that is a good rule to keep in mind. I generally do not do fitted on the bottom, because of…well…my bottom; however, I think I need to try something outside of my comfort zone. I definitely have to try something for the sake of the blouse. 😉

      Thank you so much for your comment and good advice. I appreciate it.
      ~FringeGirl

      Reply
  4. Christine

    Thanks for stopping by my blog and commenting, I would never have found your blog and read your posts of faith from Aug 26th…and thank you more for sharing your faith and for helping me to keep my heart and eyes on God.
    On fashion advice, I think the top and the shoes are very cute, those cropped jeans don’t work as well as a long skinny pair would. I think it would help give a longer line and make you feel less bulky on top. 🙂

    Reply
    1. the domestic fringe Post author

      Christine, thanks for stopping by for a visit. Glad you enjoyed the post on faith. Skinny jeans are definitely something I’ll try on and consider for fall. Everyone agrees, I need less bulk on the bottom. That’s pretty much what I’ve been wishing for all my life, but I’ll try to fake it with jeans. 😉
      ~FringeGirl

      Reply
  5. Jennilem

    I love your fashion posts because they make me smile! I love the polka dot shirt but, yes, there are a few things you can do to make the outfit better. The cropped jeans cut off your leg line and you don’t want that. You’d be better off with a pair of long skinny jeans (Yes, all of us can wear them when bought in the right size. I’m certainly not a small person.) or tailored straight leg pants. Also, try a long pendant necklace. Since the shirt is blousy it will draw attention back to a long center which is also good.

    You have great courage my fashionista friend!

    Reply
    1. the domestic fringe Post author

      Thank you for the practical advice! Maybe in a week or two, I’ll have an outfit remake and try again. I thought it needed a long necklace. I just didn’t have one that looked right. Thanks again!
      ~FringeGirl

      Reply

Leave a Reply

