A Popping Good Secret

I have loved popcorn for as long as I can remember, and when I say love, I mean an arrow shoots me through the heart and causes me to salivate every time I smell a kernel go pop.  Butter makes it extra yummy-delicious.

When we were kids, my mom had one of those groovy air poppers, but that must have died a good thirty years ago.  Then the microwave was introduced and has been filling us with cancer, one quick reheat at a time.  I thought microwave popcorn was the best invention since the automobile, but recently I read that the chemical butter flavor leads to Alzheimer’s disease.

In my family all kinds of things lead to the old-age crazies, not just chemically engineered butter, so I try to avoid known triggers – long lines in the grocery store, whining children, bad drivers, the woman who pops her gum in church for a full twenty minutes, and the cashier that asks me if I really want to use the coupon I just handed her.

No, not really.  Those things do not lead to old-age crazies, they lead to young-age crazies.

Anyway, I should cite the article that said microwave popcorn butter is bad, but that would take more effort than I can muster at eleven-fifteen p.m.  You see my son built a bonfire in the metal outdoor fireplace thingy he plucked out of someone’s trash last night and now I smell like smoke and have residue from burned marshmallows on my lips.  I just cannot be bothered finding articles that say chemicals kill you.  It’s no surprise really.  Now, is it?

I am here to share a secret.

No more bad fake butter.

No more expensive bagged popcorn.

You can make microwave popcorn yourself!

All you need is a paper bag (the kind we old people packed our school lunch in), some kernels of popcorn, and a microwave.  So stinking simple!!!
I should have thought of it a long time ago, but I am just not that smart.

homemade microwave popcorn

Last night my son was begging me to make brownies.  The boxes of mix were on sale last week for a dollar, so I did what any good penny-pinching, chocolate loving mother would do, I stocked up.  Here’s the thing though, I am on a diet.  Still.  And if I made the brownies, I would have to be on a diet until next year.  Not cool.

So I got an idea.  I was sure I once read, probably on the back of a cereal box, that you could pop regular popcorn in the microwave.  I dug in the back of the cabinets and produced a container with a few kernels left, just enough.

We sprinkled a couple of tablespoons (I don’t know how much) into a paper bag and folded it up. Then we stuck it in the microwave for a few minutes, until all the popping stopped, and we got microwave popcorn!

bag of microwave popcorn healthy diy

It worked perfectly!

We just sprinkled a little salt on it and ate up.  Well, we may have melted a teaspoon of butter too, but it was butter from a cow and not from a chemical factory.  That’s gotta count for something.

Right?

Hello, you’re supposed to be agreeing with me!

DIY healthy popcornAnyway, you’ve gotta try it and let me know how you like it.

Promise?

8 thoughts on “A Popping Good Secret

  1. muddledmom

    Yes, we have absolutely done this! I love it. And you’re right, that fake butter stuff is so nasty (even though it tastes so good). I think what I use is 3 tablespoons of kernels in the brown paper bag.

    Reply
  2. omega57

    Rigth! I must try this because my girls like microwave popcorn better. I think it is the ease and the flavors. So adding the butter… personnally I like my old fashioned Weaver popper given to me by my kids last Christmas.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

