Fashion: The Good, The Bad, The Ugly

Sometimes we bloggers worry about the image we are projecting in blogland.  Let’s face it, we only post what we want you to see, but sometimes we suffer truth guilt.  Does that make you feel better?

Yes, I may be guilty of cropping messes out of my pictures, but not all the time.  I may delete the photos that show all three of my chins, but every now and again, I let one slip past my click-it finger.  And I might, at times, only photograph my nicest outfits in a week, because who wants to see ratty old t-shirts anyway?

I don’t like to think of it as hiding the truth.  It’s more like filtering the worst of reality.

But today you get it all – The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly!

I am linking with The Pleated Poppy’s What I Wore Wednesday, so after you finish here, go visit.

The Good.

(Please remember “good” is relative.  My standard for good may not be as high as yours.)

I took this maxi dress from Summer to Fall by adding boots and a jacket.  The photo on the left was taken in July (in full-on summer) and the photo on the right was taken this past Sunday.  It’s getting cooler and by adding boots and a jacket I can extend the life of dress into another season.

Fall Maxi DressDress:  Target

Tank: Half-Tee.com

Jacket:  Goodwill

Boots: Target

I realized that I wore this long-sleeved t-shirt and jacket when I took my son to see The Hunger Games.  I only remember that because I have picture HERE.  Back then, I could not button the jacket, but yesterday I did.  Yahoo!

Gap Jacket with Flower PinJeans: Target

T-shirt: Gap

Tank: Half-Tee.com

Jacket: Thrifted (Gap)

Flower Pin:  Not a clue

Shoes: Target

The Bad.

My husband calls this my Partridge Family shirt.  I don’t know why I like it so much, except that it’s soft and roomy and it feels like I am wearing pajamas, only uglier.  It’s not that I think this actually looks pretty or attractive or anything like that.  It’s just comfortable, like an old pair of slippers.  Except sometimes I wear it out of the house.

I tell myself these are just workout clothes and they most definitely are; however, I might wait for the school bus while wearing them or possible run into the corner store, but only if it’s an emergency  – like we are out of toilet paper or m&m’s or something important.

workout clothes

Shirt:  Thrifted (no surprise there)

Pants: Walmart

Flip-Flops: Walmart

The Ugly.

I have this shirt that is too big on me.  I like it, but it hangs like a sack of potatoes.  So the other day I tried to figure out a way to Make It Work.

*Epic Fail*

Maybe you have an idea.  Can I salvage this shirt or should I just give it away?  I know the belt doesn’t work, but neither did tucking it into my jeans.  I’m out of ideas.

Shirt: Gap

Jeans: Old Navy

Boots: Target

Necklace: Charming Charlies

That’s it for this week!  I showed it all – the good, the bad, and the ugly.

So here’s my question for you….Do you take your summer wardrobe and make it work in the fall?  What are your favorite ways to make summer staples work in the cooler weather?

27 thoughts on “Fashion: The Good, The Bad, The Ugly

  1. Pingback: WIWW: A Mixed Bag and Pinspiration | the domestic fringe

  2. Angie Vik

    If you’re daughter was older she’d give advice on what works and what doesn’t. Although a teenaged gir’s fashion sense isn’t always the best judge. My girls (age 13 – 27) are brutally honest. But I wouldn’t be caught going for M & M’s in some of the outfits they wear either. All your outfits look nice, but I think your smile is your best accessory.

    Reply
  3. kelleyjohnson07

    lol, toilet paper, M&Ms, you know, the “important things” 😉 I LOVE it! I also love the idea behind this blog post. Thanks for showing us all sides of your fashion fun this week 🙂

    Reply
  4. H&K Style Journey

    I actually like all of your looks. The shirt in the last set of photos would look great with a skinny belt. I love to wear my summer dresses into fall by layering with cardigans or blazers and tights and boots.

    Reply
  5. Stephanie

    Pairing a maxi dress with a jacket and boots is a great way to transition into fall… I’ll have to give this a try! I happen to think the “ugly” shirt is cute… I love drapey shirts with skinny jeans and boots!

    Reply
  6. julee

    I actually really like the “ugly” shirt belted. If you sew, you can take the shirt in on the sides so that it’s not so loose. Maybe that would flatter your curves more.

    Also, I love how I’m always giving you sewing solutions, but if you saw my “to sew, to fix” pile that’s taking over my basement, you’d thump me on the head and tell me to shut my pie hole.

    Reply
    1. the domestic fringe Post author

      Julee, I had a sewing meltdown the other day. I have two sewing machines and neither works. They about drove me berserk! So, I won’t be sewing, although it’s a really great idea. Can I just add a few things to your “to sew, to fix” pile? 😉
      ~FringeGirl

      Reply
  7. Christy @ My Invisible Crown

    Girl! You are much too hard on yourself. NONE of those were bad or UGLY! And I’m not just being nice. The last pic with the oversized shirt is perfect with the belt. The only thing I would do is put a thin spaghetti strap tank under it so that you can’t see thru the shirt where your pants and skin meet. That’s just a pet peeve of mine and I always try and conceal. That’s it though. Try harder on the ugly for your next reveal! I think they were all super cute!

    Reply
  8. Christine

    I don’t think the shirt is ugly at all. I think a belt will work, not a skinny one, but one that isn’t so wide; it would be more flattering. I love the way it looks paired with the necklace!

    Reply
  9. Auntie Em

    See, your comments just go to show that you (we) are much harder on yourself (ourselves) than anyone else is! I like the looks too. And you’re so brave to post pics!

    Reply
    1. the domestic fringe Post author

      We are always harder on ourselves than others are on us. You’re right. I don’t know how brave I am, but I guess I’m accustomed to messing up, so why not show the pictures. It’s real life.

      Reply
  10. astimegoesbuy

    I like all of your looks!
    Your comfy shirt is kind of cute and I could see wearing it with black jeans, boots and a cardigan in the cooler months. After all it has colour blocking built in!
    Your ugly shirt is cute too. Perhaps with a skinny belt in orange or hot pink? Target usually has a good selection. Or sometimes with my larger shirts that I love I either wear them with a more fitted vest (you could use a button-up or a knitted vest), or I wear them with a coordinating cardigan (either a big granny one that I use a skinny belt on the outside or a very fitted one where I just button three buttons at the waist). Most of my options would help show off your shrinking waistline!
    Cheers,
    Laura

    Reply
    1. the domestic fringe Post author

      Laura, thank you for all the great ideas. I’ll have to try it with some sweaters and other belts. Maybe I’ll wear it when I go to Target one day and try things on top of it to see what works. I appreciate the fashion tips!
      ~FringeGirl

      Reply

Leave a Reply

